You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Mainstream Media Hacks Our Perception

in #media6 years ago

I actually wrote a post today that takes a different angle on the same process, although it's less about how the media is click-baiting us and more how we select the media we consume. This is going to be an important thing for people to understand going forward with the ridiculous information flow we're all dealing with.

https://steemit.com/psychology/@cygon/understanding-your-mind-palace

Sort:  

Great post I really enjoyed it! That comic was terrific too.

It really hits me every time I think about what kids are learning in K-12, even college-level education. We have a generation completely ill-equipped for navigating an informational landscape, and I was included in that group until I stumbled upon these ideas serendipitously.

Some of these facts are so simple, but so powerful in recontextualizing how you process information and what kind of information needs to be processed in the first place.

If you enjoyed this then I'd suggest my other post too!

"Do We Have A Crisis In Perspective?"

I'm sure I'll be writing more on this topic (I'll stay updated on your posts too!), in my link above I talk about this new group "The New Optimists" who are all doing really good work in this area. But I'd definitely like to explore the debate and put it into technological context as well, with the likes of Kurzweil and his Law of Accelerating Returns. These are the sorts of ideas I think the Gen Z's should consider "cornerstone" for liberal arts in the 21st century!