You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Mainstream Media Hacks Our Perception

in #media6 years ago

The "ad-pocalypse" has definitely been getting a huge amount of coverage, I'm not so familiar with the monetization program though. I just started a channel there--can't really add any insight, BUT this could be a case where the hysteria ends up benefitting the adoption of DTube by big players.

I think it's so important for people to at least be aware that statistics about violence and the risk of death at the hands of a fellow human being have been dropping for all of human history. Steven Pinker does a great job detailing the argument in "The Better Angels of Our Nature: Why Violence Has Declined". It isn't foolproof though, Nassim Nicholas Taleb rebutted Pinker's book in this paper called "What Are The Chances of a Third World War? and I think he's pretty damn smart so it gives me pause haha

Anyway I'll probably do a blog post soon trying to make sense of that disagreement because I believe these are some of the most important debates at this moment in history.

Thanks for the read and your thoughts!