You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Mainstream Media Hacks Our Perception

in #media6 years ago

Thanks so much! I'm so excited about Steem because it's going to light a fire under my ass in a way that writing a personal blog or posting to Medium didn't. I love to write but so far have found just about every reason to procrastinate/put it off.

Not to mention the community here seems like exactly the kind of people I've been looking for on other platforms with little success. It's like I've known about blockchain and its revolutionary potential, but was totally unaware that it was being built in real-time.

I was posting to Reddit in the Futurology subreddit and places like that trying to engage people and talk about all these cool ideas, totally unaware that Reddit 2.0 was happening under my feet! haha

Sort:  

You should do #introduceyourself post. Put effort in it and look for like minded people and you'll have better time here.

I've been thinking I should get my feet wet first... but maybe I'm just rationalizing the fact that I'm nervous haha

Or maybe posting like screenshots/quoting a bunch of my older blogs when I had no idea what the hell I was talking about but for some reason was convinced I was solving the mysteries of the universe... it'll either be funny in a self-deprecating way or horrifically embarrassing. Stakes would be high.

It looks like there's a lot of interesting communities that I'm starting to look into. This post by @torico lays out a bunch of them.

I'm hoping I'll find some luck there.

Any suggestions for a minnow like me? Next steps I could take?

I guess "Try to find your audience rather than wait for audience to find you" is fitting anywhere on the internet. Everyone has a voice and suddenly, when there's money involved, it does get a lot more noisy.