You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Traditional Social Media Is Just Becoming The New Mainstream Media

in #media6 years ago

I was around when the Internet was a baby. I discovered it in '95.
I saw it would do 2 things:

  • connect people to people
  • connect people to information

Those early days are much like these early days here on Steemit.

  • People could easily voice their opinions, or share their common sense.
  • Chat programs, email, web sites all revolutionized communication.
    • AOL, CompuServe and others added a layer on top of the Internet allowing people to easily communicate, form groups and such.
    • Then MySpace became a popular way for everyone to have a homepage to share their "life" with others.
    • Then along came Facebook (which I believe was started by or at least later taken over by the deep state... ) which combined old technologies in a new "better" way.
      • It followed in the footsteps of the United States. In the early days there was total freedom. Then "they" started regulating and freedom kind of went away.
  • It's time for a new social platform and I am betting on Steemit!
Sort:  

Good points, I entirely agree facebook was the begining of the deep state digging into social media. With myspace the growth was natural and organic, with facebook it popped out of nowhere one day, and the mainstream media was constantly talking about it, telling everyone to sign up...it was like a rolled out program

Another co-relation here is that no one seems to talk about steemit...Hmmm

yeah I agree, I have been telling people to sign up for steemit for months, but most of them cant event figure out how to get past the registration process

I have a pretty large following on FB, and post about steemit every day, but ive only managed to get about 5 people over here lol

Steemit has a bit of a ways to go with getting more user friendly

I think having some kind of welcome tutorial for new members would be great, or possibly some videos.

The sign up process needs help also

I made a similar post to this on FB and mentioned steemit, but most of the comments I got were people who were confused about it or unable to sign up

IMO that is a big hurdle that the devs need to figure out with this

I’m working on creating a “virtual school house”, to help people catalyze their effort to use Steemit as a monotized self directed learning platform.

Then I’ll be integrating a community/ community center into the equation,eventually flipping the script and creating a legitimate opportunity for people to get paid for learning, all the while having a local, like minded community to interact with face to face.

There’s still a lot that needs to be done before I launch this program, I just want to plant the seed that Steemit can be used more than monotized, censorship free, social media. It can be used as a tool/ technology to create an education backed economy (to compliment our shift from the Industrial Age to the age of information).