don't forget about stomach ache

in #medical6 years ago

So permit me provide you with all a PSA on what not to do when you have sudden belly ache. the subsequent is a play by play of ways the remaining three days of my lifestyles went.

Tuesday, 5am: woke up with intense stomach pain, felt like gasoline cramps. failed to assume a great deal of it, considering I had highly spiced food the night time before. Went to the rest room then returned to mattress.

Tuesday, 7am: Woke lower back up for work, nevertheless have a few belly ache, but I determine it'll settle down after i have my morning espresso.

Tuesday, 8am: Have my morning coffee, feeling a little better, get to the job site wherein i am working with a team putting in a rooftop bundle unit.

Tuesday, eight:30am: stomach ache is getting worse, try to ignore it however i'm getting bloodless sweats and chills regardless of it being 75 degrees out and me working on a roof. discern i'll do some more work then spend some first-rate time inside the portashitter purging my dinner.

Tuesday, 9:45am: sooner or later coming to the realization something is very incorrect. slightly make it down the ladder to start heading over to my boss to tell him I want to head home, as I suppose i've were given a stomach virus.

Tuesday, 10am: Black out for the first time, stomach pain is increasing, awaken to my boss and co-employees standing over me asking if I want to visit the health center. inform them I simply want to use the bathroom and get a few relaxation, because it's probably something I ate.

Tuesday, 10:45am: Make it home, barely. I keep in mind climbing out of my truck and starting toward the house, and that's my final coherent memory. the entirety else afterwards is based totally both on my spouse's recollection or notes from the health center staff.

Tuesday, 10:43am: apparently I referred to as my spouse and spewed out a few unintelligible nonsense however I did make several phrases clear, and those had been "emergency" and "health facility". Then, according to her, I lost attention. She called our retired neighbor to see if i used to be at home, and him go over and check one, apparently he found me passed out midway up the steps on the deck to the residence. He immediately referred to as 911.

Tuesday, Time Unknown: wake up in ambulance in extreme pain. i used to be significantly satisfied those people had been looking to steal my kidneys, that is why I harm so terrible. straight away continue to start swinging wildly (which in reality became me weakly throwing some punches earlier than I got strapped all the way down to gurnery. No EMT's or Paramedics had been harmed in the making of this debacle.)

Tuesday, 12-1ish: Get processed thru ER, in triage. Vaguely privy to what's happening around me. spouse had reputedly joined up with me at the clinic sooner or later as she become discussing matters with the nurses. health practitioner begins palpating my abdomen, and hits in which my appendix is and that i immediately soar off the gurney and try to hit him earlier than I pass out. once more. in step with my spouse, they right now started out a heavy morphine drip and slotted me for the OR.

Tuesday, five:15pm: visit pre-op, still in a morphine haze, no idea what is occurring round me, all I recognize is that there is a completely appealing redhead in scrubs with a razor shaving down via my nether regions. consistent with my spouse, I appeared down at her, then checked out my wife with a silly smile on my face. She changed into now not amused.

Tuesday, five:20pm: Anesthesia nurse goes to position masks on, I although they had been trying to thieve my lungs, and attempted to combat them. (seriously, first they are gonna steal my kidneys, nowy lungs?) Get strapped right down to the table for the 0.33 time. Get instructed to remember backward from one hundred and in step with my spouse I said "one hundred, 99, the ones titties certain like first-class" before I succumbed to the anesthesia. again, she changed into now not amused.

Wednesday, 7:30am: in accordance my spouse, this became the primary time i might woken for the reason that anesthesia. nonetheless on a morphine drip and in haze. My wife had her toes propped up ony bed so the primary aspect I saw once I opened my eyes was her legs... And reputedly I tried strolling my hand down her legs seeking to be seductive. It turned into also reputedly unsuccessful. pass returned out / doze off.

Wednesday, 9:45pm: wake up, out of the morphine haze, and seeking to determine out what the hell simply passed off to me. doctors came in and knowledgeable me my appendix had burst and that they had to do an urgency surgical treatment. said my spouse calling neighbor to test on me may also very probably have saved my lifestyles. instructed me wheny my appendix burst, it flooded my abdominal cavity with all kinds of shit and changed into very at risk of contamination, so that they had to inflate my stomach with carbon dioxide and basically vacuum/pressure wash(?) internal my stomach. I do not know, i am now not a physician, but it seemed like a few crazy type of magic they pulled. They positioned me on an antibiotics and painkiller drip in a single day.

Thursday, eight:15am: wake up to my spouse loud night breathing within the chair subsequent to me. As simple because it became, it turned into very comforting to wake up and see. Fall inside and out of sleep for the next 6 hours. additionally end up conscious that i have 3 new holes in my stomach.

Thursday, 2:40pm: Discharge Time! Get despatched home with a book of factors I can not do for that 8 weeks. i am additionally unable to work for 8 weeks. And, they've got me on hydros for the subsequent 4 weeks, so I can't even power myself anywhere. And the worst part of all of it is I did it to myself. medical doctors said if I had gone to the ER as quickly as it started they likely could have stuck it before my appendix ruptured, but i am seemingly too stubborn for that.

So, thats my story. if you have several belly pains, don't me a dipshit like me and ignore it till it's a real emergency. Suck it up and visit the ER. it's better to be secure then sorry.

also, props to my spouse for sticking my me day and night time for the remaining three days, despite the fact that i was a ache in the ass.

Cat Tax: don't have a cat, however i'm able to submit a image of my German Shepherd the next day whilst i get at the pc. She may additionally or may be as a great deal of a dipshit as i'm ( in all likelihood why we get alongside so well).

Edit: I can't discern out a way to upload my dogs picture on right here so just visualize a goofy looking German Shepherd named Kaylee (yes, from Firefly).