Starting to meditate again, and why you should too.

Meditation is an amazing tool. It really is, and I feel bad for not doing it anymore.

One year ago I was meditating every day, and I was the happiest I've ever been. Honestly. And then something happened. I don't know why, but I gradually stopped meditating. And when I did meditate, it wouldn't feel the same. I wasn't paying attention. Something was off.

It still is to this date. I've been trying to get back into it a few times, but every time it just feels weird, I can't focus, and the end result isn't nearly as effective as it was a year ago.

I've also started to feel like a hamster on a wheel, continuously seeking things to do. Always keeping busy. The funny thing is that even though I'm busy, I am much less effective than I used to be. I am busy, but I'm not productive. I get distracted by another thing, and then another thing. I feel like I don't have a moment to breathe.

I'm writing this so I can be held accountable for starting to meditate, and not stop again. I feel like I need it. They way I felt when I was meditating, it's such a clear, pure feeling of content. But it's not delusional happiness. You have problems and everything, you just look at them differently. You're more productive, sharper, more fun to be around, you connect with people easier, it just works.

Please take my word for it, and start meditating. Some tools to help you would be:

  • "The power of now" by Eckhart Tolle. It's a book about being present to the moment, which is exactly what meditation and mindfulness are all about.
  • Headspace. This is how I meditate. It's a guided meditation program that costs money, but I got it for free through torrent (benefits of great Romania). I highly recommend it, best stuff out there. You can get a 10-day trial through the phone app. (Headspace)

The science is in place, it's been studied and re-studied. Here's an infographic with the science-based reasons. Since I don't have the expertise, I'll let the professionals speak medicine.

10-Science-Based-Reasons-To-Start-Meditating-Today-INFOGRAPHIC.png

Thanks for your time folks. Hope I made some sense, the text poured right out of my heart.

Sort:  

You article is nicely written and you convinced me to read more about this. Never meditated before or if I did, it was without me realising it.

Thanks, Diana!

Read up more about it. It's actually pretty amazing.

Congratulations @cristiungureanu! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!