Discovering Meditation at 60+

in #meditation6 years ago

At the age of 62 I have had many life adventures and mishaps. I’ve been lucky to have had a great life filled with laughter, fun, family and risk taking. But 4 months ago I stumbled over something which has had a profound effect on my life.

Finding new things as you get older is harder than when you are young. So I was very surprised to discover the benefits of meditation in the later afternoon of my life.

i found an application for my iPhone that was getting rave reviews. It is meditation app that takes you from being a raw beginner to however deep you want to go. I downloaded the app and did the introductory course - wow, I was hooked. The app is called Headspaceand that’s exactly what it has given me.

I now meditate twice a day and have been doing so for 4 months. Initially 3 minutes was all I could do in a session but now I can do 15-20 minutes at a sitting and I’m sure this will improve.

The interesting thing to me is the difference it has made to my general well being and health. I am more relaxed, positive and happy than I have ever been.

I wish I’d taken it up much earlier!!








Sort:  

Hi @drkelp It is nice to see you improve your posts. You implemented a picture as well this time. Good job. I recommend that you take pictures yourself. If you use somebody else's material please quote ( pictures as well as text) I had a hard time learning this in the beginning. There are some people here on steemit that will flag your posts if you don't do that. I had to learn it the hard way.
Otherwhise good job. Keep it up.
Are you still measuring your progress with the app or are you just meditating now?

I’m still using the app. Thx for the advice re attributing photo content. I will start taking my own photos. Thx for your help, much appreciated.