So I restarted my daily meditation after 3 years of not doing it

in #meditation6 years ago (edited)

The best thing about meditation is the fact that it is free. All you need is a space, whether it is in nature or indoors, assuming you have an apartment or a house. You can put on headphones for relaxing music or binaural beats, you can do it staring at a lit candle, or just do neither of those things. Whichever way works best for you - this is up to you.

Back in 2014-15 I started meditating for my first time. Not knowing what I should have expected. There was all kinds of edgy information about it floating around, now, more so than ever. For example, opening your third eye, and demons possessing you through trance brought on by meditative states. But know I know I don't have to deal with demons or my third eye if I do not want to. As simple as that. I don't remember why I eventually stopped. I was having fun with it, I was progressing with it. Maybe it had to do with the fact I was diagnosed with schizo-typical disorder, and I started taking medication for it, which in turn wore me out physically. I stopped my daily meditation roughly around late 2015.

For the past week I have been laying down on the bed, relaxing every bit of myself as much as I could, following my breath and trying to clear my head of random thoughts. I have been using a selection of music from Youtube, which I've gathered under a private playlist. But this weekend I chose a different track.

It turned out to be a little too intense for relaxation, and I wouldn't recommend beginners using intense music like this for their meditation (right click the video for a Loop-feature so the music stays on).

Either way I decided to roll with it. I was laying down on the bed belly up, closed my eyes, relaxed myself so much I stopped moving completely, and felt every part of my body as I concentrated on my breath. I felt I was filled with energy. I felt pressure behind my forehead. Eventually the visualizations arrived. Before I go in to these, I will have you know I was in perfect darkness - I had shut down my two desktop computer monitors, and shut off the lights.

I saw my apartment fully lit. I saw my monitors on. I saw one of my overhead lights was on. Nothing weird, right? It must have been just some fragment of a dream?

I opened my eyes. The lights were out. The monitors shut down. But sunlight was coming through the window. How much was I out of it? Only three hours. Three hours meditating. I felt alert.

Sort:  

I usually meditate at night in bed to help me fall asleep, the only way I van fall asleep is to meditate or else I suffer from insomnia , well it could also be due to the great number of cups of coffee I drink a day hehe.

One cup's amount of caffeine remains in the body for roughly 5 hours. I will be posting meditation stuff on my blog - I am trying to discover the best methods for it.

you are a nice person, i shall follow your feeds. keep up the good work

Congratulations @freesnakes! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @freesnakes! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @freesnakes! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @freesnakes! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!