You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Matcha Mylkbar Vegan Restaurant: The Vegans Visit Melbourne.

in #melbourne6 years ago

Evening!

I am curious, too! Which aspect of veganism don't you agree with? I get why you may not like vegans .. we can get cranky with people's apathy at times considering the needless deaths, but as for disagreeing with a philosophy that promotes peace and compassion to all sentient beings, I'll need a bit more of an explanation of your though process if you're up for it.

Totally glad you've tried some new foods - Matcha Mylkbar was actually the very first place I tried pulled Jack Fruit! Never had it before until then!

Have a great night!

Take care,
Nick

Sort:  

It is just not easy to summarize my thoughts well I love your sentence "a philosophy that promotes peace and compassion to all sentient beings" but also the vegetables and plants are sentient beings and we are eating that . For example If I eat eggs and/or milk I think it will not affect seriously chicken and/or cows . Regarding the jackfruit I ve never taste I want to taste it. You too have a great one and take care

Thanks for getting back to me!

Cutting a carrot just isn't the same as cutting an ear of your dog or hurting an animal. Might be why we have animal cruelty laws in Australia and not plant cruelty laws.

If you eat eggs, that industry, by design discards all male baby chickens. They are killed either in a grinder pulverising them while they are alive or suffocating them. I cried for weeks and weeks after my pet budgie died. It still breaks my heart thinking of him and that he isn't with me. He was a bird and is no different to these poor creatures being killed by the billions.

Milk comes from the systematic rape and theft of female cows. Their babies are taken from them and are either enslaved themselves, or if male ..similar fate to male chicks. Kept for a few weeks then boltgunned to death as babies.

No treatment of an animal as a commodity ends pleasantly nor should be viewed as acceptable.

The jackfruit was a real kicker! I'd definitely seek it out. If you eat it at a vegan restaurant, you're probably going to get in a very high quality dish. Vegans have a thing about people having perceptions of our food being second grade so they go to extreme lengths to produce absolutely exceptional food.

I don't mean to sound "preachy", but I hope these facts about the animal industry help to clarify your understanding about what really happens.

Take care!
Nick

I respect but I partially agree with you not all animals have a bad treatment like that . Then anybody has the right to choose his/her ethics and/or his/her nourishment. By the way thanks for sharing your opinion and for this conversation take care too

Sorry I think you're mostly mistaken. Killing the by products (males) is absolutely necessary to producing these products on a commercial scale.

The right to choose probably should end where another's life comes into question.

If we don't need to kill, why would we? It is like smacking a child for no reason. Why hurt the child? Why hurt and kill animals?

Personally, I cannot find strong enough reasons to do so. Nutrition isn't one of them, nor is a temporary taste on the palate.

Thanks for the respectful discussion. Take care and I hope to see you back here, too.

Cheers.
Nick.

Thanks to you for sharing your point A discussion is useful to know what you think and show what is my point or view or idea. Take care enjoy your food and your trips