(Strategy Share) A bloody Melee Battle and Its Strategy

in #melee2 years ago

image.png

What team will you pick when you see the ruleset of "Up close and personal" and "Super Sneak" with 99 Mana?

Today I would like to share one of my battles which uses this ruleset include what i did consider and thought process, how it's setup on both side and what is the result.
Furthermore, I will also use the Splintertools to explore few other monsters and how their results are.

Let's start...

For me, when I saw this ruleset, few questions popped up when see this ruleset.

  1. No choice, both sides have to use Melee monsters
  2. Which Splinter has most and max Melee attack monsters in my deck?
  3. Which Monsters can help to reduce opponent's monsters Melee attack?
  4. How I will maximize my team's safety or minimize the consumption?

What deck do I have?

Majority are CL cards with few Untamed cards delegated from Guild leader (PeakMonsters[Vikings]).

image.png
image.png

What was my thought process to lineup?

  1. Which Splinter has most and max Melee attack monsters in my deck?

    • Among my splinters, I focused on Earth, Dragon and Nutrual for their "Giant kill", "Double Strike", "Piercing", and "Thorns" as 1st level, 2nd level with "Trample" , "Enrage", "Backfire" and "Retaliate"
    • Although the water, life splinters also have high attack Melee monsters, however the conditions to have them attack massive is a bit strict than Earth, Dragon and Nutrual
    • In this case, Death splinter is out of consideration neither on quantity nor quality
  2. Which Monsters can help to reduce opponent's monsters Melee attack?

    • This is relatively simple, both "Disintegrator" and "Legionnaire Alvar"
  3. How I will maximize my team's safety or minimize the consumption?

    • To have my monster relatively safe, i consider through 3 ways : its skills, the speed and position.
    • For the skills, I more prefers the monsters with "Shield", "Blind", "Healing" or "Fly"
    • For the speed, off cource, the higher the better. but need to trade off, so I only ensure there's no 1 speed monsters.
    • For the monsters' positions, since this the ruleset is super sneak, I focused on building up the thick solid backline tank. for the first position, I only leave a thick shield monster to take care of.

Choices for each positions:

Summoner: Dragon Summoner - Quix: mainly looking for his ability to reduce opponent's speed. and further more, I have no other dragon summoner which can do the Gold league battles.
Backline tank: Djinn Chwala: Expecting his Thorns can consume opponent's monster's armor or health if possible. His Enrage ability gives him a longer stand especially it's cut into his health.
2nd Backline Tank: Carnage Titan: Expecting his thick armor and Shield ability can buy enough attacks for the team mates monsters.
Frontline Tank: Legionnaire Alvar: He has relatively high count for Armor+health and front tank work here is relatively lighter than backline.
Rest positions: Desert Dragon, Grund and Disintegrator, in fact their position is a bit random and not the focus.

Finally, it ended up with this lineup for my team.
image.png

After I lined up my team, let's look at how the battle was set up.
Opponent's Summoner: Selenia Sky
Frontline Tank: Robo-Dragon
2nd frontline Tank: Carnage Titan
3rd position: The Kraken
4th Position: Legionnaire Alvar
2nd backline Tank: The Vigilator
Backline Tank: Djinn Chwala

Here's how the setup looks like for both side.

  • Both side, have 2 Demoralize monsters
  • Opponent side have average speed is higher than what I have, but Quix helped to reduce it to be similar with mine
  • Both side were similarily have 2 double strike monsters. and the backline tank
  • One advantage the opponents has was "The Kraken" has Taunt and Enrage skills which high chance to have my monsters generate a lot miss attack.
  • In overall, it's difficult to tell which side had a significant advantages on the lineup setup.

Then let's look at the Movie of the battle. The whole battle looked like very bloody. :)
Battle Movie <= Click
image.png

Surprisely, the team that I put together works strangely well over the opponent's one. The result was that i won the battle.

image.png

With the curiosity, I looked at the Splintertool for this battle's win rate.
image.png

and furthermore, I changed few monsters, but keep the key ones there and see the result:
image.png

Another change on none critical position. the win rate could be maintained.
image.png

But when i removed "Carnage Titan" and use "Grund" to be 2nd backline tank, the win rate dropped siginificantly:
image.png

Or when I change Legionnaire Alvar to be Mycelic Infantry. It became nearly no chance of winning.. same thing for Disintegrator.
image.png

When I move Legionnaire Alvar to none critical position and put Mycelic Infantry on the frontline tank.the Win rate back to close 100%.

image.png

So, from this play around, it get me few conclusion which could be considered for future battle benefit.

When encounter the "Super sneak" and "Up close and personal" ruleset, the most important things to win.

  1. Have a strong 2nd backline tank. eg. Carnage Titan
  2. Put as many as possible the monsters who has "Demoralize" skills.

With this lessons learned concluded, it reaches the end of this sharing.

Thank you very much for your reading and hope you enjoy this battle. and the conclusion

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121

Congratulations @splinterbin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!