Breaking the Bad News, the memes are in vain...

in #memes7 years ago

I have a confession, I started a Supload account…. and… loaded it with my FB meme stash.
There's a lot you can tell about a man by his meme stash. Time to see if I can move that stash to Steem.
I plan to close the Supload account for a few reasons:

  • It was opened only because block-chain tech at the time could not provide simple image sharing.
  • It is a legally concerning platform, not that I care about laws as much as human wrath(the idea it could be justifiable is the bigger reason).
  • Memes are all truly spam of the most odd type, and not worth risking disapproval of others.
    BTW: “Stopping Spam” is the Voluntarist approved method for the protection of what others perceive as Intellectual Property(IP). The originator of the source content may find the IP to be somewhat valuable to them, this is part of the reason “memes are in vain”.

So... If anyone has any IP concerns about the pics please mention it in comments.

IP for the creator of a meme just amounts to… “I want this message/idea to get out, so I don’t care who copies so long as more eyes get put on this meme”
So it is all just educational… right.

So let me just dump all this on Facebook….

Memes define discourse on facebook for one prime reason-> “your content is being shown to a group of people not to the whole internet/world.” So IP is not in question.

“This is an inside joke... right.”

Most people who generate memes for political reasons intend to prove a need for a specific federal or international law.

I suppose you could say I’m on the opposite side…

But I have deeper reasons for my ideas.


“Oh no, he is just a religious fanatic...”

  • You mean like these guys?

    Yeh…

Well my God is about the closest thing to Voluntarist considering he came to help others and die on a cross; not enforce the moral law he informed us would give us a better existence.





And if your feelings have not been hurt enough to move on by now…


Politicly I used to be all...

But now U.S. is on an extremely corrupt path, that any talk of turning this federal government ship around is almost laughable…





Wish I had an officer make this clear to me as a kid. But I did not, so I took an oath to protect and defend it from enemies foreign and domestic. Turns out the domestic political ones are far greater than any other.

And people are looking to an incomplete compass for direction.

Would anything work?

Catholics have been recommending something called Subsidiarity from the 1800s….
To implement this idea one must realize that the more physical authority an entity has at its disposal the lower the moral positiveness to being obedient to that given entity…

At some point this turns into a moral imperative to trick and subvert those with excessive power for the purpose of moral good.

These people only have the power we let them have...

Sort:  

I like supload as a free image hosting service, but so far I have not been able to finalize any earned Bitcoin to be able to take it off the site, and whoever is running the site has not been responsive when I did try and reach out. I will try again, but I'm surprised I have not read more comments on people not being able to cash out.

The subreddit seems to show others having the same issue https://www.reddit.com/r/Supload/

The owner has not been active for at least a month
https://www.reddit.com/user/rizzles

Twitter for even longer https://twitter.com/suploadcom

Be careful, back up any images you really want backed up, use Google Photos or some other free service. http://postimage.io is a great free image host for using here on Steemit. I continue to use supload as just a free image host, but I fear recommending them to anyone and just urge anyone using them to expect the site to just be gone one day. But hopefully not, it was a good idea and simple site.

Edit: Just sent rizzles a PM on reddit, I hope he replies and all is well.

Not a prime reason to close my account but another to add to the list.
Thanks, for the comment.

Thanks, postimage.io looks good.
It looks like SteemIt is using a site called "steemitimages.com".
I don't know if SteemIt or steemitimages is using Amazon...
But the license agreements is key to the image not being lost.

Really good stuff. I can tell your quite libertarian. Which is the way to be. I'm currently wearing a Make Taxation Theft Again shirt lol. Following now Hope to see you post things more often! I wish more people knew the difference between Keynesian economics and Austrian economics! And earlier today I posted a picture of the most libertarian shirt in the world lol!

Cool thanks; this whole post is about the SteemIt handling of those meme images, they should all be in the public domain in my opinion.

so... both steemd and steemdb show the original supload links, but SteemIt uses amazon...
steemit-production-imageproxy-thumbnail.s3.amazonaws.com
New storage place of images? Am I the only one who thinks this should be storj or siacoin or ipfs?