Growing up in Terrace Houses: Friends, Bands, and Goodbyes (Part 1)

in #memoir19 days ago (edited)


This story is a text-based narrative with no accompanying photos (except the one above). However, I hope you'll find the memories and descriptions engaging and vivid enough to paint a picture in your mind's eye.


Memories

You know how they say that some sensory experiences, no matter how small, can suddenly take you on an emotional time travel to the past? How you can vividly remember doing something close to heart or spending time with a loved one? For me, few things trigger such memories as a familiar smell, reading a book, or a song long forgotten.

Tabac and tobacco, music and books

It's like when I used to catch the scent of Tabac aftershave mixed with a specific tobacco – it would always remind me of summers with my grandpa in Lapland. I could vividly recall our fishing trips, snowmobile rides, and campfires where we'd fry sausages and fish. These days, people smoke much less, so those memories don't resurface as often.

Lately, I've been on a rollercoaster of memories, listening to the music I enjoyed when I was a kid. It took me back to the trips into the city with my dad, who studied biology at university and worked at a hotel. Later, he started his own business as an inventor, and I'd tag along on his trips. I'd always have earphones on, one hand in my father's hand, and a book in the other. The Beatles, Elton John, and 50s rock'n'roll were the soundtrack to my childhood, accompanying me wherever I went.

I wasn't one for daycare. I don't remember much about it, but I know there was a bully at one of the family daycare units they tried to place me in. After some ups and downs with daycare, my family decided to move to a quieter neighborhood in Vantaa, away from the noise of the city. It was a welcome change, providing a calmer environment and a fresh start.

Eventually, I ended up in a proper daycare center and kindergarten before starting school, but I have a feeling it wasn't for very long. I don't even recall much from those days, but I do remember a girl named Hanna who used to say she wanted to marry me when we grew up. It's funny to think about now, but that's one of the few things that stand out from that time.

Early Moves and Settling in Vantaa

I was born in Vaasa, but my family moved around quite a bit before we settled in Vantaa. When I was just one to two weeks old, we moved to Pähkinärinne, a neighborhood in the Western part of Vantaa. After that, we moved to Helsinki, living along the busy Mannerheimintie, one of the main roads in the city. It was a noisy place, and I remember the constant hum of traffic in the background. Finally, when I was 3 years old, we moved to Varisto, Vantaa, a suburban area right next to Pähkinärinne, where we'd lived before where we found a neighborhood of rental terrace houses consisting of 10 units.

Our new home in Varisto was different from the bustling streets of Helsinki. It was surrounded by standalone houses and sat next to a picturesque field. Beyond the field was a dense spruce forest, adding to the serene backdrop. Our upstairs bedrooms faced east, giving us a beautiful view of the sunrise each morning. The living room, kitchen, and bathroom were downstairs, while the bedrooms were on the second floor. This is where many of my early memories took shape, exploring the neighborhood, making new friends, and enjoying the changing scenery throughout the seasons.

In our new home in Varisto, I found comfort in books. Even at a young age, I was drawn to tales of exploration and journeys to distant lands.

Ever since I learned to read when I was somewhere between 3 and 4 years old, books have been my trusted friends. I would lose myself in the stories of Enid Blyton or Edgar Rice Burroughs, imagining I could be as strong and resourceful as their heroic characters.

Our neighbors were mostly from the working class, and though they were kind-hearted, they sometimes drank too much. It was a common aspect of Finnish culture in the 80s. Despite this, there was a strong sense of community among the families in the neighborhood. We knew each other well, and my parents would host annual grill parties in our yard, inviting the entire extended family and relatives from my father's side.

Since my mother's family lived in Lapland, about a thousand kilometers away, they couldn't visit as often. But the grill parties were always a highlight, bringing together family and sometimes even the neighbors for a day of food, laughter, and stories.

My childhood friends

Our neighborhood of terrace houses was built on a slope, creating an interesting layout. Our unit was on the upper level, comprising two storeys, with the living areas on the ground floor and the bedrooms upstairs. Below us was another apartment. The terrace houses at the bottom of the hill were single-storey, creating a tiered effect. Because we were on a slope, we had a view overlooking the lower houses, with a field and a spruce forest visible in the distance.

My childhood friends included our next-door neighbour's Ville, and his sisters Maiju and Marika. Maiju was a bit older than us, Ville one year younger than me, and Marika was a couple of years younger than me. In the apartment below us lived Sami.

Terhi: My First "Girlfriend"

Terhi lived in the apartment next to Ville's, on the opposite side of ours. She was probably my first 'girlfriend,' though at that age, that meant we just played together a lot and shared snacks. We spent countless afternoons building sandcastles in the sandbox, exploring the neighborhood, or pretending to be explorers. But then one day, her family moved away, and just like that, she was gone. I don't know where they went, but I remember feeling a little hole in my heart when I realized she wouldn't be coming back. It's funny how even at a young age, you can feel the loss of a friend.

Rivalry and Sleepovers

Ville, Sami, and I were like a trio, though there was always a bit of friendly rivalry about who was the 'best' friend. It wasn't until after Sami's father passed away that his mother decided that for us. I was invited to join them for sleepovers on many Saturdays. Our families' sauna times were close enough that it was an easy arrangement. We'd have our sauna, then I'd head over to Sami's place. His mom would make some snacks, and we'd watch 'Velipuolikuu,' a Finnish comedy show, before falling asleep. Those Saturday nights became a routine and a bit of a sanctuary for Sami after his father died.

Sami's Father and Anger

Before Sami's father passed away, I remember him being angry at everything. He'd shout at us kids for just about any annoyance, like our laughter was too loud or we accidentally kicked a ball into his yard. Looking back, I wonder if he was already in pain or struggling with something we couldn't understand. We were just kids; we didn't know what it meant to be an adult with adult problems.

The Stolen Bicycle

One day, Sami's bicycle was stolen by some bullies, and it was a pretty big deal for all of us. I happened to find it in the bushes near our terrace houses and was wheeling it back when Sami's mom saw me. She must have thought I was the thief because she grabbed me by the ear and started shouting. I was stunned and confused; all I wanted to do was return the bike. It was my dad who came to my rescue, explaining to Sami's mom that I was just trying to help. She was nicer to me after that, and I think she felt bad for the misunderstanding

The Band

Sami and I once decided to form a band. He had a guitar, and I had a love for The Beatles, even if I didn't really understand English yet. I'd make up lyrics that sounded vaguely like English, sing and dance, and he'd strum along. We were a hit – at least with our neighbors and the other kids in the yard. They clapped and cheered, though it's hard to say if we were making actual music or just making noise. It didn't matter; to us, it felt like we were rock stars. That was way before I joined a music-oriented school, but those were some of the best moments, filled with laughter and make-believe concerts.

Sami's departure

After Sami's father passed away, everything seemed to change. It was during this time that the Saturday sleepovers, the makeshift band, and our backyard adventures became our way of coping with the loss. It was as if we were trying to keep the spirit of our friendship alive despite the difficult circumstances. But it wasn't long before Sami's mom decided to move away – maybe to start fresh in a new place. I don't remember exactly when it happened, but it was likely within a few months to half a year after his father's passing.

Sami's departure was a big blow to our little group. He was a central part of our lives, the one who brought us together for all kinds of mischief and fun. When he left, it felt like a piece of our childhood was taken with him. Without Sami and his guitar, our makeshift band was no more, and the Saturday sleepovers became just a memory. Saturdays were just another day, and our usual adventures felt incomplete without him.

Even though Sami moved away, I still cherish the memories we made together. It's strange how quickly things can change – once again, a person who had been a constant presence in my life was suddenly gone.

Without Terhi, and now him, the neighborhood felt emptier, and our usual games lost some of their spark. It was like losing another piece of the puzzle that made childhood feel complete. But that's part of growing up, I guess – learning to let go of the past while holding on to the memories that matter most. It was a new reminder that even childhood friendships can change, but the bonds we formed would always be a part of me.

Palle: The Quiet but Strong-Willed Boy

Since Terhi had moved away, a boy named Paul, whom everyone called Palle, had moved into her old apartment. Palle was quiet at first, observing everything with a calm intensity. But once he got to know us, he opened up. He was strong-willed and had a certain way of doing things. Palle eventually got us all interested in role-playing games, but that was later, when we were a bit older. For now, he just joined us in our usual games, whether it was football in the field or hide-and-seek in the forest. I must add that Palle and I didn't get along at first. We used to get into fist fights and wrestling matches a lot, and it was I who ended up eating dirt quite a many times.

The Neighborhood Group

Our little group kept growing and changing as people moved in and out of the terrace houses. Ville and Sami were my closest friends, but there was always room for others. Soon after Terhi and Sami had left, Palle became a regular part of our group, bringing his own energy and enthusiasm. We spent summer days playing outside, riding bikes, and exploring the woods. It was a simple time, full of adventure and the kind of imagination that only kids can muster, even if things felt a bit different without Terhi and Sami.

A Sense of Community

The terrace houses were like their own little world. Everyone knew everyone, and the kids could roam freely from one apartment to the next. There was a sense of safety and community that I didn't realize was special until I grew older. It was the perfect setting for making lifelong memories and friendships that shaped who I would become.


Thank you for reading this far!

This post grew larger than I expected, so I'll continue the story in another one soon. If you've enjoyed these childhood memories, stay tuned for more stories about my neighborhood friends and a few memorable run-ins with bullies. Please bear with me if the timelines seem a little blurred – I’m sharing memories that go back more than four decades. I hope you find the journey as enjoyable as I do, and I look forward to seeing you in the next chapter!

Sort:  

Thank you for your curation @idea-make-rich!