You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memoir Monday (A new initiative on HIVE)

in #memoirmonday2 months ago

Such a wonderful idea! The part I enjoyed most going through the family archive was reading the few letters that I could find, precisely because they offered a glimpse of the life of my parents and grandparents.
I already know the answer to your first question :)

Sort:  

Thank you, Rebecca. I was so excited when the idea came to me for this. I don't remember being this psyched about a blog since the old Steemit days. It was great to feel that again.

I can't imagine how cool it would have been to read your grandparents letters. It really is like time traveling if you think about it. So often people don't get the urge to write down their memories until it's too late but it's such a valuable thing for subsequent generations to learn from. I can't imagine how valuable it would have been for us to have journals from people who lived through the Spanish Flu epidemic during the Covid lockdowns. Can't wait to read your first memoir installment! Future questions will have a little more substance than this one but these kinds of questions are good too, just to tap into the memory banks.