Finishing up a super cool guitar build

in #menolast year

If you follow htis blog, I'm sure you are aware of the headless guitar build I worked on for months. What you might not know is that the guitar was designed and later built for a musical hero of ours. The truth is that this was a bit overwhelming for me, somewhat scary, but I'm actually quite proud of the ending result.

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-29 at 5.16.33 PM.jpeg

The original build, the prototype so to speak is being sold to a friend. In his eyes, and also mine, there's something quite special about owning the first one. At any rate, that guitar is staying in Ecuador while the build I'm sharing on these pictures is traveling to New York.

I'm 99% there at the moment. Need the knobs, which I don't have in stock, and the strap buttons (black hardware of course), which I also don't have. My brother is going to be taking the guitar tomorrow back to the US and he might travel to NY to deliver it personally.

Some info on the specs, in case someone is interested:

Body: Two piece book matched black walnut
Neck: Colorado (Ecuadorian Timber) and Zebra wood fretboard
Frets: Medium Stainless Steel
Scale: 25 to 26 Inch Multi Scale.
Pickups: High Output Custom made
Bridge: Guyker Headless Bridge
Weight: 6.7 lbs
Electronics: 1 V, 1 Tone, 3 way
Bolt on neck construction.

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-29 at 5.16.57 PM.jpeg

I truly put my heart and soul into this, and I'm confident the person who owns it will be able to tell it's something unique.

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-29 at 5.16.38 PM.jpeg

I have to say I truly love this heel design. It feels great on the hand, and the bolt on construction just makes sense here. This was a feature my older brother Jose fought for, debated me on, and won. I'm glad he did.

We posted a video of my brother goofing around on the guitar on our instagram page, Cordovez Guitars. If you are there, say hi!

https://www.instagram.com/reel/CvNs8G6NaGk/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link&igshid=MzRlODBiNWFlZA==

MenO

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-29 at 5.17.04 PM.jpeg

Sort:  

Impressive work

Man, that's gorgeous! I love the way the grain flows up the shape of the guitar, and how you've matched the zebrawood neck to the walnut grain. Truly superlative work.

Thanks!

It does look great. It will stand out amongst the generic guitars you see most people playing. You must be proud of it.

!BEER

That looks fantastic! Love seeing something that breaks away from the norm.


Hey @meno, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

If you like BEER and want to support us please consider voting @louis.witness on HIVE and on HIVE Engine.