Leaving for Florida today...

in #meno11 months ago

Things didn't quite work out as I planned, but then again, when do things work out perfectly? Glitches is an inherit part of the system, so to speak. Anyhow, I'm off to Florida tonight for this guitar mission.

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-26 at 7.20.25 PM.jpeg

As you can clearly see, it's not done. I still have some days of work to put into it, but the ticket is for today, so I must finish in my brother's shop.

The biggest setback was the humidity here. Maybe this is widely known, maybe not, but Nitro lacquer hates humidity. As a matter of fact, if you spray thick coats to "be fast" you are just going to end up sanding for days. The lacquer gets all white and foggy, and thus, I lost my shit and sanded it to bare wood.

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-26 at 7.19.34 PM.jpeg

My friend who commissioned the guitar from me wants it Purple bursted, so In ten days I have to pull this off. That being said, Everything seems to be in order at the moment. I pre-assembled it, and it looks like no surprises will pop up.

WhatsApp Image 2023-08-26 at 7.19.54 PM.jpeg

This new headstock shape has grown on me quite a bit. I think for this particular model it's the right choice. Originally this body shape is for a headless guitar, but my friend does not like those, he's too much of a traditionalist for such things.

I should be packing a bag, and yet, here I am at my shop trying to make sure I'm leaving everything in order.

MenO

Sort:  

You do an amazing job! such nice guitars!! thanks for sharing the process!

Safe travels! Say hi to the hurricane for me.

Congratulations @meno! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 6 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the September edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023