Saying Goodbye To Old Friends & Embracing New Opportunities

in #mentalhealth4 years ago


Imaginarium 2019
Thomas Moore, Me

Dear Daniel,

To be clear I'm not saying goodbye to Thomas. He is a dear friend and mentor in filmmaking.

There are times when you have to take a look around you and know when it's time to move on. Since 2011 I have been published 27 times. I have directed 23 film projects. And have co-written 38 scripts.

In October of 2019 I was signed by Krista Keller Stodden, located out in Pasedena, CA. I have won (along with Missy) 111 awards across our body of work since 2014.

I have been a part of supported in a major way the Imaginarium Convention since 2014. This year I am up two Imadjinn's, one, for my part memoir/part how-to non-fiction book, Something to Believe In, and second for my paranormal romance, The Guardian. My and Missy's film based on our true story mental illness, friendship, and recovery, Letters to Daniel is an Official Selection. And scripts, one feature, Gemini Rising and one short our TV Pilot The Guardian are finalists there this year.

Some people seem to think we are going to win big. I really don't know what to expect. But I will say it's nice to get some recognition locally. And the importance of having a writer's convention in my backyard since 2014 has been convenient and always a pleasurable time.

Imaginarium is where Letters to Daniel: Breakdown to Bestseller (zero budget proof of concept documentary) first screened. I collected friends and fans for my books. And the premiere was a smash with 20 people in the screening room, and several people purchased my first and second volume of letters.

In 2016 I met Thomas Moore. A crazy talented director who wanted nothing more than to be hired by studio to direct. His films are all amazing. And through him me and Missy for our two leads for Letters to Daniel: The Motion Picture.

My favorite memories though of the Imaginarium family was when Stephen, Holly, and Tony all participated in the film as themselves, as the beginning and end of the Letters to Daniel movie takes place at the first Imaginarium.

But as with everything, you grow, you get better, and you change. I recently determined my last small press published book would be The Making of Letters to Daniel. I went with Hydra Publications, a fantastic local small press. First owned by Frank Hall who gave me my first print deal. Now owned by Tony Acree. He's a rock star in his own right.

Four of my books will be published by 3 Bitches Press, but I'm and changing there too.

I recently wrote a novel, SONGBIRD, and I have a memoir being edited. I've decided that at this point I'm shopping for a literary agent for my novels. The Knight Agency has already turned me down. I moved on to ICM. While the Knight Agency is a mid-sized agency ICM is A-List. I'm ready to play with the big boys so I need a big boys agent.

That's what I mean by growth. I have a talent manger now for my film projects.

Which led me to ask the question what benefits do I reap just for being a "participant" at Imaginarium. Well there's being around other writers. Sharing knowledge with beginners. And of course seeing your film project screen. The commraderie that cons provide are wonderful to nuture those writers taking their first steps.

However, I am not taking my first steps any longer. And there are a lot of cons, bigger cons where I could be invited as a special guest. There are film festivals where my value as a great will be easier to quantify and see.

I love Imaginarium. But the truth is, I have outgrown it as a "participant". I now run my own festival. Distributors, investors, and producers are going to be viewing Letters to Daniel at Megafest where my career has really blossomed.

So this year is my last hurrah at Imaginarium. I plan making the most of it, and it would be amazing if we could take home an armload of awards. But if we don't it doesn't matter. My time at Imaginarium has been well spent and I highly encourage indie writers, small presses, and artists starting out to attend Imaginarium this year and in the future. You never know what can happen if you just plant the seeds.

Sincerely,

Amy McCorkle



Posted from my G1NBC network page with SteemPress : http://g1nbc.net/healing-hands/?p=497