Will This Story Stick

in #mentalhealth4 years ago


Letters to Daniel
Photo credit: Doug Kaufman

Dear Daniel,

In writing terms I'm pantster. I don't plot, ever. And when I'm done with the project (especially is it's a book) I put it down and never concern myself with it again. It's almost as if I'm channeling characters experiences. And while I am, it's very therapeutic.

Not that I create in a vacuum or a void. I want people to read my stories. I want people to connect emotionally with my characters. I want to transport and enlighten my readers. And sometimes I just want them to have fun.

Early on in my writing career was won't to say, it's like falling in love with your hero 50k to 70k words at a time. There's no danger of your hero leaving you, unless your reading chick-lit, women's fiction, or literary fiction.

I have been told I should write horror and comedy because that's where the money is. As a screenwriter I can write MOMENTS of funny. I can make my characters say funny things. Every horror script attempt turns into a thriller or a suspense story.

My favorite thing to write is action with a dramatic heart. But those stories are far and few between. I have tended toward the women's fiction or romance world.

The tale I'm currently working on is scifi/action/romance. I made it through the first chapter. With a thrilling en media res beginning. There is no insta love so far, but that is kind of my trademark.

I haven't written this type of story for some time. And anxiety sometimes keeps me from going forward. Especially since the end of May. The only regular writing I get in is here.

So I woke up at 4am and couldn't sleep. I tried to crash again but I couldn't. I did some promo on the screening of Letters to Daniel. Weird to be gearing up to do it again. And when you're up that early that's really the only thing you can do. The brain doesn't function that well that early in the morning for me. At least not creatively.

But I'm going to take my meds and eat a little something. Some would say I'd had a full day already but I'm trying to survive until I know if I got into NFF today. And if I'm nominated for anything concerning Letters to Daniel Saturday.

Sincerely,

Amy McCorkle



Posted from my G1NBC network page with SteemPress : http://g1nbc.net/healing-hands/?p=486