Repeating the Retreat

Last month I wrote about a weekend mini-retreat. This weekend I am repeating that activity, in the same spot. I had been planning on it for a few days, and then my husband got drunk again the day before I was going to leave, which confirmed my need for a temporary escape.


20200830_191428_4.jpg

One of the fringe benefits of staying at this particular place is the proximity to friendly goats. This one likes to have its head scratched.


20200830_191331_3.jpg

Mama goat and her kid keep to themselves most of the time.


20200830_191034_2.jpg

I brought along good things to eat from our garden. This was a bigger pile of green beans than I'd expected, but I didn't waste any time eating them all.


20200831_130008_5.jpg

Another meal involved sauteed squash and onions, also fresh from the garden. A hard boiled egg and a cooky rounded out the meal.

I brought movies to watch on my computer, CDs to listen to, crossword puzzles, books to read, knitting, and a couple of necessary projects that need doing. It has been a relaxing two days, with plenty of naps, and time to think. I've been in a very emotional mood, probably because I allowed myself to feel some feelings I've been ignoring. This evening I plan to attend another Al-Anon meeting on my way home. I am finding those meetings to be quite helpful, and am glad there's a group not too far away. The road of life is likely to be bumpy for the foreseeable future, I may have to make some decisions I never expected to face, and I need all the support I can get, as do our two adult children who are currently living with us while dealing with health problems. My life contains more questions than answers right now. I have to remind myself that God saw all of this coming long ago, and He has a handle on it. My job is to continuously look to Him for guidance and wisdom.