You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can You Eat Roosters?

in #michaeldavid28 days ago

Yea, bone stock should be longer boil. I have to pay attention to my propane usage though so currently I'm afraid to run that long. If we run out, I cannot afford a new tank and we could be out for weeks. 3 hours was all I felt safe doing and was cringing at that. It did not soften the bones really, I was just hoping to get more nutrients that a normal short boil. I have a large roaster but its electric and our power situation is less than desirable. I can only use it really in the day time. But I do have plenty of pots of varying sizes.

Seems everyone is pointing out grinding the meat. I'll be looking for a grinder. I've wanted one for a while now. This batch is going to catfood but i'll be grinding next time. Great idea.

Yea i'm sure the bone stock you're making gels well, tons of collagen in that broth. Ive been researching collagen and the type that is in chicken predominantly is type 2. It's the type for joints. I'm pretty sure that collagen rich broth from chickens might even help arthritis.

Sort:  

I had not heard there are different types. Good info to know!

I guess there are 5 types the human body needs most. they just call them type 1-5. They are needed in that order with type 1 being about 90% of what you need. each one doing different things. type 3 is from beef. So when you see all the hype about bone broth and see it all bein sold from cow... its sort of a scam, a little. because that type of collagen is needed less than type 1 and 2. Anyway, fish, quail, and even goat are type 1 :)

sorry, both these accounts are me. I use themothership for voting people that comment my posts.

I really appreciate you posting this info. I prefer chicken, but at the moment, the beef bones, organic from our local farm, were on sale. I plan to do chicken when I can find a trusted source. Thanks again!