Inner Journey – Amazing adventure exploring the mind and the self!

in #mindfullife5 years ago

Hello Kind Mindful Steemians!
To win 5 SBI check the Mindful Life Monday post by @naturalmedicine "Win 5 SBI! Mindful Life Monday - Amazing way to start and end the day! by Guest editor @bewithbreath."

We were in London to celebrate the life of the Buddha last Sunday. The venerable monk splendidly described the 3 simple teachings of the Buddha:

1. Sabbapapassa akaranam (Not to do evil or bad deeds)
2. ku salassa upasampada ( To cultivate merit or perform good deeds)
3. sacittapariyodapanam (To purify one's mind)
etam buddhana sasanam. (This is the Teaching of the Buddhas)
(Dhammapada verse 183)

I was acquainted with this teaching when I was a kid by a monk in our town. But so refreshing to hear it again - this simple and profound teaching. Many can argue what constitute as good and bad but in this context any action performed by wholesome mind is meritorious and any action performed by unwholesome mind is bad. Thus, practicing meditation help us purify the mind leading to good deeds while avoiding bad deeds. I really do like this simple teaching which can lead absolute transformation.

My Meditation Journey
Although I was doing some informal meditation many years ago, I got into serious meditation in 2010 after I took a 10 days silent Vipasanna Meditation course as taught by Venerable S N Goenka. Friend of mine recommended it to me and I would go as far as to say that this is the most important thing I have done in my life. To me, meditation is simple yet profound and transformational. But meditation can be hard work. However, we witness the transformation ourselves and people will notice the change. It works at the deep level of mind purifying it - so in a way, meditation can be called mind bath. We cleanse our body with bath but meditation cleanse our mind.

What is Vipasanna Meditation
It is not a rite or ritual based on blind faith; neither an intellectual nor a philosophical entertainment; not a rest cure, a holiday, or an opportunity for socializing; not an escape from the trials and tribulations of everyday life.
Vipassana is a technique that will eradicate suffering; a method of mental purification which allows one to face life's tensions and problems in a calm, balanced way. It is an art of living that one can use to make positive contributions to society. (Source)
image.png

Anyone who has attended Vipasanna (www.dhamma.org) meditation courses knows too well that it is highly intense, very hard but equally rewarding and insightful. Schedule for most days during the course (Source):
4:00 am Morning wake-up bell
4:30-6:30 am Meditate
6:30-8:00 am Breakfast break
8:00-11:00 am Meditation with some comfort break
11:00-1:00 pm Lunch break & rest
1:00- 5:00 pm Meditation with comfort break
5:00-6:00 pm Tea break
6:00-7:00 pm Group meditation
7:00-8:15 pm Teacher's Discourse in the hall
8:15-9:00 pm Group meditation
9:00-9:30 pm Question time and retire
(@vincentnijman @yangyanje - this is what you can expect when you go there soon)

As you can see, during the course we meditate for about 10 hours every day. Noble silence during the course mean we are not allowed any form of communication with outside world or inside the meditation centre. Yeah….tough, right? But, it is such an insightful experience one really has to taste it to know it. Because everything we experience is within - “beauty is in the eyes of beholder”. If we are joyful we experience the world differently than when we are irritated/annoyed.

'Vipasanna' means to see things as they truly are. Trying to understand our own true nature should be of prime importance for us, right? So, if you haven’t heard about Vipasanna Meditation yet I highly recommend checking it out at www.dhamma.org. There are about 176 permanent Vipasanna meditation centres in around 94 countries across the world providing FREE meditation course. After the course meditators can donate as per their will. Since my first retreat I have attended many more courses including some special course for old students. Now, meditation in the morning has become synonymous to brushing the teeth.

Exploring other Meditation / Mindfulness Courses
Apart from Vipasanna, which remains my main practice, I also followed Osho, Jai Krishnamurti, Eckhart Tolle, Thich Naht Hanh, Jon Kabbat Zinn, Mooji among others. These learned teacher has so much to offer to the world and I'm so grateful that I came across their teachings. Lately I have been following Sadhguru (Isha foundation) and now regularly practice his teachings too.

After nearly a decade of regular practice I now run/ran group meditation at work, in local community, seminars and now here on steemit Mindful Life Community on Discord

We cordially invite you to Mindful Life community, which resides in the @naturalmedicine server HERE.

Our regular #SGM (#SteemitGroupMeditation) in our virtual Meditation Hall are on Wednesdays and Saturdays 8:30 to 9:30 pm London time (Brief schedule: 8:30-8:40 pm check in & brief guidance, 8:40-9:10pm guided meditation and 9:10 to 9:30pm Q & A plus chitchat)

If time prevents you from joining us before or after guided meditation, you are also welcome to join us just for guided meditation. So, come and join us for the inner journey – the ride is fun! Also look out for our Mindful Life Monday post by @naturalmedicine.

What are the benefits of meditation?
There are many benefits of meditation some backed by science (such as evidence from reputable neuroscientists) others (more importantly) by personal experience. I previously described some scientific evidences behind meditation.
image.png

On personal level, I have significantly benefited from meditation. Some health benefits I have experienced: I used to have regular cold sores (4-5 times a year) which has now almost disappeared completely. I also used to suffer from regular pharyngitis and haven't had it for last 6-7 years.
Other benefits I observed: as I mentioned on the post by @naturalmedicine 🌿 5 Questions for @bewithbreath: A Mindful Life - Plus, Invite to Join The First Steem Powered Group Meditation on Discord! 🌿 - I used to be a heavy smoker and have tried, without success, many times to give up. I used the Nicotine patches, inhalators, lozenges and so on to quit smoking. At times I gave up for a month to 6 months but went back to smoking again. But after my first 10 day meditation course my craving for smoking vanished as if I had never touched a cigarette. Absolute cut off. Since then haven’t smoked. And in Jan 2018, I decided to become a vegetarian - since then I had no problem giving up meat, which I used to enjoy a lot. So, I would say that the will power has strengthened quite a lot from meditation. I'm also much happier person than I was before meditation - I couldn't really ask for more, could I really?

So, now, Will we see you on the next #SGM? - for the inner journey to tap into that natural goldmine within, the bliss beyond the sensual seeking.
Meditation Hall

Promotion and Reward
This section will contain any promotion or rewards I may be offering. So watch this space.
To win SBI, Steem and SP delegation please check below (only 2 days left):
5 SBI give away for reesteems 👍🏼! And deadline to Win 6SP Plus delegation of up to 150SP extended to end of May

FDB0FA941A40402CA5733C6D760DD9A4.jpegB11DCCF1093F44D7B12EC8AD439B5882.jpeg13458A1C5087420789DF92DB9968485F.gif

With Peace Love & Joy 🕉❤️😊
Let’s grow together in wisdom through #meditation 🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♀️

Sort:  

Hey Meditators and meditation enthusiasts - we have changed time for our SGM (Steemit Group Meditation) today. It will be at 5:30pm today on Discord Meditation Hall https://discord.gg/g74bdV. Will we see you there? @amico @chesatochi @chireerocks @ConsciousAngel7 @cori(crescendoofpeace) @digitaldan @fracasgrimm
@inuke @jacobfox @Immarojas @macchiata @plantstoplanks @porters @raj808 @rebeccabe @riverflows @yangyanje @steelborne @steemflow @steemityourway @tryskele @vibesforlife @VincentNijman and other meditation enthusiasts?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looking forward to it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I was stuck in a time warp, found out about it just after the session but I'm looking forward to joining in next time. It has been a while! ;>)

Look forward to meditating together - we missed you for last couple of sessions

The feeling was mutual!

Yes, I think you did say you could not for some reason

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Thank you. You are doing great work on steemit 👍🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm really glad to hear that!

Would love to see some pics of how you honour the Buddha Days (as we call them here in Thailand) - it's all so colourful and ALIVE and noisy here in Thailand, that I struggle to image what Buddhist holidays LOOK LIKE anywhere else. :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

It was relatively quiet ceremony here - kids telling story on the stage followed by a friend giving talk on Buddhism and daily life and then monk’s discourse plus kids art competition.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BeWithBreath from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello can I post somthing

Posted using Partiko Messaging

Ya, sure

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ya, sure

Posted using Partiko iOS