Meditation Review With @bewithbreath Week 2

in #mindfullife5 years ago

After series of traveling from the past two weeks, I missed couple of session due either was on the road, or too tired to even wake up for the session. However last night, Saturday the 15th, I managed to join the group session with several other steemians like @yangyanje and @rebeccabe. It's probably my third/second time but let's count it as the second week of my involvement here.

For the past two weeks, I did not have the time to sit still and be with myself. Let alone having privacy. I was surrounded by other human beings who seem to always want meddling with my business. It was such a hectic weeks this year. My mind was scattered all over the place and I was driven far from myself and things I suppose to enjoy. In short, being with people who supposedly give me comfort was just an inconvenience.

Yesterday,11 p.m passed and I was still wide awake. It sent a signal that I was back to my regular imperfect routine. So, I brew another cup of coffee and went into waiting state. I decided to think about stuff that I used to practice- especially, minimalism which I suddenly stopped practicing. I sat in my room and observing things I own.I noticed, I was coming with only a backpack and 4 years later, the room is full of stuff.

I have been downsizing a lot last year, so you can imagine, my small room was again very cramped with junks.I don’t think clutter makes me happy. This time, I will be de-cluttering and donating some books I barely read.Not to mention, de-cluttering the papers and receipt I’ve been hoarding for the past 3 months. I always keep my receipt to help me track on my finance. Yet as usual, sometimes it’s very difficult since I haven't found the system that works for me. Nonetheless, I am just going to skip this month's finance tracking and start all over again.

About an hour later, the waiting period was over as my timer starts ringing so loud. Yet, I got carried away with my thoughts and was late into the meditation hall. However, I still managed to catch up on the “grateful” session. It’s one of the session that I thoroughly enjoy. In the end of the meditation session, I asked @bewithbreath about tips and advice on my problem with unfocused mind during meditation.

At a normal day, I find it difficult to spare an hour just to sit and examining my breath. I feel like whenever I do that, I am going to miss out on something. Though I do believe, I don’t miss out on anything. This mindset was partially influenced by my fast-paced life in the past. I lived as if there was no tomorrow and I maximized everything I did. Maybe it’s also the reason as to why, I am unwillingly to sleep at night; I am afraid I will miss out on things.

By the end of the session, I asked about how to tackle on being unfocused and wandering mind, @bewithbreath, advised me that I should do more heavy breathing, not all the time just a little bit more just so I can notice it. That's something that I learned this week. Besides, soft breathing makes me drowsy as well as the meditation always happens at around 1-2 a.m my local time.

Also I find group meditation is much more effective than when I do it alone. It’s also great to hear other experiences after the meditation session is over. If you haven’t joined this meditation, feel free to do so, don't hesitate to reach out to @bewithbreath.

[macchiata]

Sort:  

I was surrounded by other human beings who seem to always want meddling with my business.

I know this feeling all too well. It's been my experience, that the types who are constantly up your ass cannot seem to read body language, and will persist even when you are friendly about needing your space. Eventually I will explode.. Then I'm an asshole..

I love living alone :)

We're always an asshole to people who are unwilling to understand us.

Very glad that you joined SGM (Steemit Group Meditation). Even more pleased that you found it helpful & effective.
If anyone is interested please join us on our discord server https://discord.gg/UvN3Mf 🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♀️

I will put this link @bewithbreath in my next post. :)

Brilliant - Thank you dear 🙏🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

I totally agree the meditation group helps make life better.
resteeming my friend... I appreciate the mention too. :)
!tip

❤️🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♀️😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for re-steeming! see you in the next meditation session :)

👍🏼 My tipping doesn’t seem to be working @tipu. Let’s try again.
!tip simple

Posted using Partiko iOS

Perhaps the tipping bot is offline :)

🎁 Hi @macchiata! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @rebeccabe!

Check out @rebeccabe blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you @rebeccaabe ! I truly appreciate it.

I love the the picture 😊. !tip

Posted using Partiko iOS

Love this and so glad the SGM is of benefit to you. Another thing you can do is pay attention to the IN BREATH ... that's the energizing breath, as the long slow exhalation is the CALMING breath that calms the parasympathetic nervous system. Sounds like you had a hectic week! Hope this week is more peaceful for you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for this tips :) I will try to do it as well in the next session. It's still a hectic week, exam days :-D

It was my mistake...made transfer to @tipy instead of tipu 😕.
!tip

Posted using Partiko iOS

🎁 Hi @macchiata! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @bewithbreath!

Check out @bewithbreath blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)