You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meditation and Mindful Moments - Realizations & Plans to Heal Chronic Illness Naturally

in #mindfullife5 years ago

All that from a 30 minute session... you are buzzing!! Amazing.

Sometimes they pop into the mind like a bolt from the blue, others times they settle in like water flowing into a tarn, filling every tiny crack and crevice in the bed of the lake

Beautifully written. I always think meditation gives you space for life to fill it up again, ad infinitum! All my yogi and meditation teachers have spoken about how the practice ACTUALLY gives you more time, not less (it takes time to practice) because we become more efficient thinking... let alone healthier and more able to do our lives!

They have done more studies that DO find people with serious illness are more likely to recover through a meditation practice. Of COURSE it is a combination of factors but im convinced it helps. When my father was sick the first time with cancer comma they hit him with really aggressive chemotherapy. He had some pretty serious side effects and he swore that meditation and Yogic breathing helped him through both psychologically and physically. It also enabled him to come to terms with his illness and not resist it so much. They say positivity is one of the key factors for cancer survival as well.... so far hes still going well even though the treatment continues.

They have also done studies on meditators and found that their telomeres actually were in better shape than those who didnt... it literally has the power to change your brain. So if this is starting to work for you.... who knows babe, it could really, really help!

They had a wimhoff workshop near me last month. Sadly i missed it but it kinda freaks me out. Id love to do it though!!!!

So glad Mindful Life is adding to your healing journey!!!!

Sort:  

They have done more studies that DO find people with serious illness are more likely to recover through a meditation practice. Of COURSE it is a combination of factors but im convinced it helps.

I agree, but I'm a born cynic. It's not negative thinking, it's just a healthy drive to find the answers... that work. I spent 2 years doing yoga 5 mornings/week while experimenting with every exclusion diet you could imagine and none of that helped heal my illness. This is why I say what I say in this blog post.

Regardless of all that I'll never give up... and what you said

he swore that meditation and Yogic breathing helped him through both psychologically and physically. It also enabled him to come to terms with his illness and not resist it so much.

is absolutely true in my experience. Not resisting is a big part of giving yourself a chance to heal. I am very aware that part of what exacerbates my SIBO is the stress of trying to figure out the next healing plan/protocol, not to mention having to battle tooth and nail with doctors over treatment.

Meditation allows me to let go of all that background tension... and that has to be a good thing :)

They had a wimhoff workshop near me last month. Sadly i missed it but it kinda freaks me out.

ha ha, it is freaky. Even after only doing it for four days I was able to hold my breath for 3 minutes after the breathing exercises, and stand under the cold shower for about 5 mins where before I'd last 30 seconds. It is crazy stuff, but with my love of diving it really appeals to me for the idea of one day being able to freedive for ages, and to be healthy again as well ;-)

Thanks for checking out my post riverflows :)