Finding Your 'Why'​ To Success.

Finding Your 'Why'​ To Success..png

Meaning, the reason behind the reason, under the surface is the real reason we desire change.

It's often the shortcut to identifying our pain because this deep reason for change gets right to the heart of it.

For example, often I can admit that I'm not the kind of active, inspiring father I really want to be.

This is one “why” that can truly drive change and I didn't want to settle for an easy answer so getting to my “deepest reason” required some introspection.

An exercise called the “5 Whys” can help kickstart the process.

Here’s how it works: Take your initial reason for wanting to make changes to your business, relationships or lifestyle, and use that as a starting point.

Maybe you want to be more productive.

Now ask yourself “why?”

Keep asking—remember, it’s called the 5 Whys—until you feel like you’ve identified the real reason you want to change.

Get it done.

Some entrepreneurs can define and go head on with their “why” quickly and for others, it requires a little more time and effort.

  1. Why do I want to level up my productivity?
    I'm afraid I won't get through all my tasks fast enough and fall behind.

  2. Why are you afraid you won't get through all your tasks fast enough and fall behind?
    There's simply too much to do by myself and I'm afraid of feeling overwhelm. I want to get super organised, better at time-management and efficient.

  3. Why is it important to get super organised, better at time management and efficient?
    So I can spend more quality time with my family.

  4. Why is it important to spend more quality time with your family?
    So they know and can feel that I care about them more than anything.

  5. Why do you want your family to know and feel that you care about them more than anything?
    If I could be remembered for just 3 words they would be, 'family, legacy and love.

Now that is a powerful deep reason and need for change.

To become more productive for example.

If you struggled with this exercise like I did, it's not supposed to be easy by the way.

We can help access uncomfortable thoughts we've been avoiding or pushing away by practicing meditation and/or mindfulness.

Dominik