You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Embracing My Introverted Nature {Mindful Monday}

I absolutely love this!! I love the fact you stepped out to share your story about being introverted and how you encourage positive change. I too am very introverted but when I was in college I purposely made myself center of attention as a coping mechanism.. not because I was extroverted but I had figured if I encouraged the attention I wouldn't look like a retard sitting in the back of the class all quiet and creepy and I was afraid of people staring at me unprovoked so I provoked it on my own...

I'm still very introverted tho... I don't go out on my own most of the time and even when hubby has the few friends he does have around I'm very quiet and barely ever speak even when I want to be opinionated as all HE double hockey stick... Which maybe they do think I'm weird..??

I'll check the book out!!! Thanks for sharing??

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

It's a fantastic book, so I think you'll really enjoy it! Even things I had already learned it was nice to see put in print or just hear about similar experiences. Just the other day I had brunch with a few friends and had one text me later on in the day asking if I was ok because I was quiet! I think I had just been busy that week, so didn't have the energy to partake in a lively conversation. I still enjoyed being there, I just didn't have much to give by way of speaking that day, haha. So funny though that many people automatically think something is wrong!

I think that's why I was inspired to write about it a bit more. I think we can all learn to be a little more in tune to the needs of those close to us, especially if we have partners or close friends who are at the opposite end of the spectrum. :)