The Insightful Corona Lens: Creating Clarity

in #mindfulness4 years ago (edited)

We forget that Light is our natural state - that we are Beings of Light. And in times of turbulence, transition and seeming death & darkness, we are so busy shading our eyes against the glare and protecting ourselves we forget about the cleansing illumination it brings.

Sitting in my quarantined Northern Thai home very early this morning, sipping tea, listening to birdsong and looking out through the eerie half-light caused by heavy smoke from local forest fire, I was reminded that we live much of our lives in a foggy-smog, created by media, expectations, Disney and a whole host of mistruths that we cherish and cling to like a known and comfortable but dangerous and faithless lover.

It came to me that #coronavirus has been a true gift in my life - a magnifying, clarifying light that is burning away some debris.

light1330842_1920.jpg

Time

Perhaps for each of us in our solitary homes, nothing has been more stark than the light shining on how we spend our time. I have felt personally relieved of so many burdens - people, events, tasks - that I have been unable to do for long enough now that I question why I ever did them. I'm grateful that this quarantine has no end in sight and will allow this new & still fragile rhythm to establish - a new rhythm rooted in focus & essentials, creativity, family and the things that make my heart sing. I am taking careful note to observe the restlessness and the things I yearn for... they are the things and people I will run to with gusto and enthusiasm when I am able. They are few.

Friends

This Covid-19 Lens has enabled me to see who my real friends are, with a level of clarity that has been borderline uncomfortable. My real friends text or call and listen to what's stressing me and keeping me awake at 4.00am. They are the ones who are pre-ordering or buying Pure Thai Naturals products they don't really need so that we can have enough money to eat and at least keep the utility bills paid. They are the dear ones who send me music to lift my spirits and funny memes to make me laugh when it all feels heavy and dark.

My "litmus test" for friends has changed a lot, and for that I'm grateful. I have learned that some people have no idea how to be a friend to anyone, and I'm releasing those people with quiet thanks for the lesson.

Community

With so much endless talk (babble?) about 'creating community', I've seen first hand what real community is about: sensitivity, giving, grace and connection. The real community people don't need to create it artificially, cos they ALREADY LIVE IT no matter where they are. They are the helpers, the connectors, the ones hosting online get-togethers and sending helpful links and ideas. They're NOT the ones shooting out demands and complaints. I've come to see that you can't "create community" to meet your own fears and needs, but that it forms around you naturally, without the slightest effort, when you live in alignment with generosity of spirit and trust.

Values

I'm amazed at the people who claim an hour-long meditation practice and even make videos about it, who are FREAKING OUT. I'm gobsmacked by people who drop the word "abundance" at every opportunity, but who are panicking at having no money. I'm horrified at the people who will step on and harm or deprive others to get what they fear they will lack.

I'm seeing that probably the more someone TALKS about abundance, peace or community, the less it probably is real for them in their lives. I'm seeing that social media values on positivity pages don't count for much when people are deeply afraid. And I'm understanding that this #coronavirus is revelaing what we - and others - actually believe about ourselves and the world.

Essentials

Most of all, I'm grateful to the Corona Lens for shining a light on what is essential. For forcing that question, that discussion.

CoronaLens.jpg

I am trying to relax into this uncomfortable bright corona light - to sit in the crucible without wriggling or squirming and to simply let the lessons be. My nose is itching, my leg is cramping and part of me wants to scream with frustration, and yet I breathe long and slow, I still my irritated heart and my restless Being; I let the itching pass.

I am observing closely what is germinating and beginning to grow in this new and quiet place.

BlissednBlessed. Grateful.


Come check out my natural Thai herbal business … yes, we ship world-wide

pure thai naturals 2.png



Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive


ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif
Creating Abundance for on Hive

Sort:  

@tipu curate


A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

Much gratitude @amico - hope you're safety sequestered at home somewhere..... x

Thank you for sharing your positivity and for highlighting the many reasons why we must be grateful to life! 😘

I am grateful to live in front of agricultural fields, where I can graze "my" dogs in solitude (and in safety) once a day.

Cheers! 😜

Am pleased to here you can walk your dog in peace and safety. ❤️

Have a nice and restful day!

Take care.

Wish you a calm and restful week, @kaminchan.... seems 24 hour curfew is coming soon, so quiet is good for everyone. Be safe and healthy & stay positive.

Thank you very much.

I need a good rest and catch up with my sleep.

A beautiful post. The real yoga or meditative practice - whatever we choose to call it - begins off the mat and guides us through the pain, uncertainty, fear and horror. How we react now in this time of need has never been more important. I am thankful for my associations with people who are generous, loving and kind even though they are feeling uncertain and scared themselves. It's okay to be anxious and scared and say it - but our actions in the world should always act from a place of love. I too get a bit shocked at people who talk the talk but don't practice what they preach. How is it possible they haven't learnt a thing? And I guess this teaches us too how to be understanding of why such people behave so, the need driving it. We can keep our distance to protect our own hearts, but be compassionate at the same time. Such a fine balance.

I am infinitely glad this corona has shone light on the strength of OUR friendship - even when things are paralysingly scary, you have been there, with honesty, love and humour. Much love to you xxx

I guess all WE can do is to try and understand them and not react, at the same time as we take a large & self-protective step back. It is what it is. Yes, appreciating the growing we're all doing. Honesty is a DD thing - LOL.... you will always have that in spadefuls.😂 Yes, grateful for love & humour and grateful for your friendship.

No time for anything less than generosity of spirit and optimism. ❤️

ah! Beautiful! What a wonderful way to look at this, see it as the Corona-light! It definitely is the catalyst for many changes and there is a lot of good that can come out of this!
Loved that final picture you posted about the rush to return to normal and to consider which parts of normal are worth rushing back too!
Thanks so much for sharing! I found it very uplifting and inspiring!

Glad it spoke to you in some way, @porters - yes, the play on corona virus, corona crown and corona beer makes for some interesting thoughts and associations!!!

We need t really CAREFULLY RETHINK what we go back to and restart, when the cage doors are opened.

Excellent point about the typical love, light, and abundance people freaking out. The corona lense is really showing who really believes in abundance and who is really afraid.

So glad that you're finding such a deep benefit from this. I hope more people find the same peace.

💚

Yes, we really ARE seeing the fakers. All good, if a little disturbing. 😉 Random demonstrations of abundance? Wow. Amazed and grateful for what - and who - does the opposite and simply shows up. Thank you. 🙏

You state,

"I'm seeing that probably the more someone TALKS about abundance, peace or community, the less it probably is real for them in their lives."

I believe this to be a fact. Those at peace do not need to broadcast it. Those in turmoil are forever in a cycle of, " fake it 'til they make it", constantly or only throwing out memes of positivity.

People at peace are so chill they just live, laugh & share and don't need to make videos about it. People who live in, and are part of, community generally don't need to go and sell the idea either. It's been a good learning for me to observe this one IRL. Appreciate the follow btw. A compliment. ❤️🙏

@vincentnijman here, on behalf of Natural Medicine. I love to see messages like these popping up more and more. There's so much I can relate to here. This surely is a time of many revelations. Thanks for your beautiful words of wisdom :>)
xx

It's not always NICE what gets revealed - but necessary for clearing and moving forward. Thanks for the support @vincentnijman ❤️🙏