Have you ever..?

in #mindfulness2 years ago (edited)

Have you ever felt so alive it took your breath away?

Today, on a walk with my daughter and two dogs, I felt a surge of contentment, happiness, and strength. One moment I looked around me, my daughter jumping in mud puddles with such joy it made my heart so warm; I see our two dogs, mother and daughter, running full speed together when something happened, a feeling I've never felt before; strength in myself, contentment in my life, and happiness at just how beautiful simplicity is.

We live in the mountains. We are surrounded by nature at every turn. Today was, as some may describe, a gloomy day - foggy with some rain - but to me, today was one of the most beautiful days in the past few weeks. Walking as mothers and daughters (humans and pets) I felt powerful. I felt a connection to Mother Earth today and I embraced the fog and when it started to rain a little, I enjoyed the slight splash of the sprinkle on my face.

It's truly incredible what can happen when I come back to the breath and "just be" in the moment. I am so used to allowing my mind to wander and run through different scenarios; some that have happened and others that haven't. It feels wonderful to slowly start to release my prisoner mind and become one with myself, who I truly am, and not these demons who have run my life for quite some time.

I've been on this earth for 32 years and today I felt more alive then I ever have. Today I felt the result of my mindfulness practice. I felt what I have read about in books. I felt how I only dreamed of a year ago. I felt so alive it took my breath away.

Have you?

Sort:  

What a beautiful story and what a beautiful feeling @maw12! Thank you for sharing!

You had sent me a comment, but it is lost from my post without being able to figure out how and why. Luckily I had already read it. It was an amazing comment and I wanted to thank you and tell you how much I admire what you have managed! Really sorry for my slow reply, these last days the farm work has been overwhelming and I wanted to give some time to read it again and reply the way it deserved to be treated, not being exhausted... Well, not only I couldn't give it time, it is totally lost! But I have the feeling it left in my heart :)

PS. Would love to see photos of your place!

@traisto Thank you! I had accidentally deleted my comment on your other post as I am still getting familiar with PEAKD, but I posted another one just incase someone would like to read it :)

Slow replies are wonderful, that means that you are out living a life away from a screen, a life which many people do not do now-a-days and the farm life has long days and by night rest is the most important.

Slow replies are my thing, haha! Well, not always, I try to be on time, but when I am physically tired I cannot even type a word :)