You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Early Schools of Indian Buddhism Series

in #mindfulness6 years ago

I do believe in what Buddha taught if he existed doesn't really matter because the meditation techniques and lesson have worked for me and I have served at meditation retreats and laypeople's sanghas @machhour and have seen the same results from other people. I had night terrors since I was a small child and PTSD from being sexually molested, physically and mentally abused by my stepfather. No matter how much therapy I worked through and pills to help me, I couldn't let go of the trauma conditioning.

I let go of my trauma after my second meditation retreat back in 1993, and I haven't suffered anxiety or night terrors since that time. I do still get anxious, but that is typical anxiety that everyone suffers from being a social creature.

I've had to work at learning new ways of reacting to sense data without hooking into old conditioning. No one, no magic spell, no god, no pill can do this kind of work. Conditioning is deeply rooted, I think it may even be imprinted in our genes which we pass onto our offspring. The meditation techniques remove the imprints permanently. I needed to build a new framework for my life, and I used the information from the stories and lessons Buddha taught to rebuild my life for the better.

Sort:  

I understand perfectly your pains, it is not easy to face this but for me
True happiness and inner peace flow from our submission to the commandments of the Creator and Lord of this world. God said, in the Qur'an:
"Is it not by the evocation of God that the hearts are quiet?" (Koran 13:28)

Inner peace is in Islam, I advise you to read more about Islam or just listen to the Koran you will feel at peace and will help you a lot to overcome the stress of life

I am happy you have a religion that brings you peace and happiness @machhour.