Space to Breathe

in #mindfulness8 years ago

When I was young, and I was frustrated at being rubbish at art - I bought a book called "Drawing on the right side of the Brain". It said focus on the gaps between objects, not the objects - and it will stimulate your creative right brain. It worked - the book by Betty Edwards changed the course of my life.

I was about 12, and I drew a photo of my father on a boat using her methods in pen and ink. He still has it (I think). Interestingly it made a positive difference to our relationship a year prior to his departure from my home....

Following my godmother's advice not to pursue an application to art college, I decided instead to let life decide my fate. This proved to be the best decision I ever made. Fate gave me more than I could have ever planned for myself.

I am still looking at the distances between things - per Betty's advice. And interestingly it's the gaps / distances and separation that really helps me identify the things that are important. Distance gives you time to think. Time to evaluate and to appreciate. Time to focus on how to move forward.

So for all of you who are in the interregnum, remind yourself that these moments have more power than any other. These are the spaces in which to breathe. And to really appreciate. Scan left and right - and then move forward. Enlightened.

Sort:  

Wow, interesting life perspective. I also think we should take a step back from things in order to breathe and see the whole picture, to understand better the moments, the peoples, the things. I feel the same desire to lose the everyday race and just to let miself be without paying attention to the tornado from my mind.

Interesting perspective, to see and USE the negative space, the non important one.

Thanks for the insightful thought.

Excellent write!

Congratulations @zenalogue! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!