Self-Investment is the Best Investment

in #mindset4 years ago

1_H7ApU5j3H4YKBrag4_NabQ.png

I think you have to empower yourself to empower others in the digital age. It has taken me years to figure out how to empower myself and I am now in the process of trying to empower others, but it’s not a destination, it’s a journey. Everyone has to take good care of themselves and there are so many dimensions to this. That’s why I emphasize that before you can invest in others you have to invest in yourself. I invest the most in all aspects of my life, because self-investment is the best investment with the highest Return on Investment.

But to empower myself I take care of my mental and spiritual health. I’m not going to bore you with too many details but a few key things I’ll point out that have helped me are finding the right Nootropics and Supplements and meditating everyday with the HeadSpace App. I have not been going to the gym but I have to start doing that again. The biggest thing is consistency.

The other thing is taking time out to read hardcover books. People don’t read books and I don’t get it. Everyone who is a billionaire reads tons of books. So what is the excuse? If you want to be smarter and more intellectual than read more fucking books cover to cover!

Cutting out all bullshit from your life is good also. Cutting out toxic people who bring you down or hold you back from your true potential is one thing. Cut out as many drugs and alcohol exposure as possible. Maybe don’t go to every party or hangout and stay inside some more times. You need to put your foot down and know when to say no. I’m not saying be a complete hermit but just use common sense.

Reducing your exposure to digital media and electronics is very important in the hyper connected age of “Always-On”. Reduce the number of apps on your smartphone, reduce the number of tabs on your laptop, cut the clutter and turn off distracting notifications on as many apps as possible. Eliminate as much noise as possible so you have room to think clearly.

Also focus on one thing at a time. If you are reading a book be fully engrossed without any care of anything else. Same thing with watching a TV show or watching a good movie. I think multitasking is counterproductive bullshit. You can task switch only so much but the less choices you have to make the better. You need to live in the moment sometimes and just be completely engrossed and engaged in what you are doing. Spend lots of time away from screens. I go all out on my Instagram but I don’t use many other apps or mediums. You don’t want too much hyper-communication unless you want alot of anxiety and stress in your life. The other thing is I don’t look at everyone’s Instagram.

Yes, even I struggle with FOMO (Fear of Missing Out) but I have learned to channel my FOMO into more productive things. For example focusing on what I need to accomplish and what I need to pay attention to.

My passions are in all things related to Digital Transformation, Industry 4.0, Startups, Entrepreneurship, Cryptocurrencies, Exponential Technologies. But I limit the number of things I pay attention to. I don’t look at the feed of bullshit on my Instagram or Twitter all day. The amount I do use Twitter and Instagram I feel guilty of using it so I even try to cut that down more and more. I don’t use Reddit or many other social media apps anymore which is just a feed of bullshit.

This is going to sound selfish but it’s capitalism 101. You want to produce more than you consume. So stop consuming and start producing!

I just look around and I feel very confused that many people operate the way they do because it seems detrimental to their health & wellness.

You have to take care of your health if you want to take care of your wealth.

Another thing is don’t chase knowledge. Crave wisdom. Knowledge is knowing useless facts. Wisdom is knowing how to process information, how to think, how to learn from others wiser than you and how to see the forests rather than the trees.

If you want to be wealthy than you got to be intellectual. And it’s not rocket science. Read more books. Use Amazon and buy alot of New York Times Bestsellers and read them cover to cover. It’s really not that hard.

Finding spiritual connection in your life is very important also. That’s why I learn from Buddhist, Stoic and Tao Philosophers because their wisdom is timeless.

Learn about the stock market and the cryptocurrency market and how to invest and trade. Even if you are mainly broke. I’m telling you this stuff changes your life and the way you think about money. It connects you more with financial markets, and it’s fun. You don’t have to be an investment banker to understand how the stock market works or a blockchain engineer to start trading cryptocurrencies.

Follow certain trends in business and follow influential business leaders who you like or who you see yourself in. They have years of wisdom that they give out for free on the internet on youtube or through books!

Finally, try not to be the smartest guy in the room. Because the person who thinks he’s the smartest in the room is probably the dumbest. The smartest person in the room actually knows he’s the dumbest.

Find your passions though and what truly excites you and makes you tick, because that’s not just how live a better, happier and healthier life. It’s how you get rich. But chase the game and the journey, not the destination. The game is an infinite game to which there is no end. So have fun along the way! And play long-term on anything in your life. Whether it’s your health, invest in the long-term. Whether it’s investments, long-term. All billionaires invest long-term and play very long, while all poor people play short-term and give up.

You want to have a much wider attention span then most people. What worries me is that to the fault of social media and the explosive growth of digital technologies most people live in a distracted state where they don’t know what’s going on, what to focus on or what’s important in their life.

Career wise, I haven’t figured it out yet. But I have a feeling I’ll be fine. Because I now possess the tools of the titans, a killer mindset and have a long-term mindset. I’m a very patient men and I’m getting hungry but I will eat when I need to.