You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your Future Can Be Seen in the Eyes of Those Closest to You...

in #mindset6 years ago

I am glad to be with you on this journey, I once found myself in a circle of an indigenous society in Nigeria called ogboni , It was so because my father was a member and their philosophy is to take advantage of others pain to gain. I couldn't fit in properly because my father taught me the opposite of what he was doing while growing up. To cut the long story short, When he passed away, they expected me to continue in my farther footstep, but i declined and told them that i was not interested,
I stopped attending their public function and their gatherings and meeting,It was lonely and It was tough and i was denied a lot of opportunities to earn an income. that was the price i had to pay.
I also withdrew from a lot of childhood friends because their parents were equally members, and they carried on . it seemed that everyone i ever knew was part of the system. But staying away away from them made me to start thinking of ways i can improve my genuinely without taking advantage of others.
In summary, like the saying goes" show me your friends and i will tell you who you are".
I was able to break away and i am so grateful to find myself in this community, It give me a new outlook to life and reality in general.