Newfound UK state of mind : reminiscing year'16

in #mindset6 years ago (edited)

Good Day!

I was living in UK a few years back, and that’s where the prospects of an education progressed from conversation to realization. Yet, it all happened by coincidence. I was desperately in need of a change, as I had been circulating within the same spiral for years without really feeling that I achieved anything. This, despite that I had well-paid work and was able to travel. I needed a different scenery, and so I ended up moving there literally one week after I had finished cycling the coastline of Norway. My ‘getting settled period’ happened in a whim, and what follows next will elaborate on this:

uk-norway-flags.jpg
Picture: https://www.energylivenews.com/2015/08/28/thumbs-up-to-scottish-works-for-uk-norway-link/

I flew in on a Wednesday with a single bag, and was hosted by some friends. “Don’t worry I won’t stay too long” I ensured them. Although they didn’t seem to bothered by having me there, then I was more than eager to explore my opportunities. The next day I dropped by a bar and managed to score myself an interview for Saturday without a CV or a UK number. On the Friday I happened to pass a college. At this point then I was unsure whether ‘college’ referred to high school or university as these are used differently depending on the country. All the same, I went in and asked what courses they had for the autumn thinking I might benefit from it. I had after all come to UK to change my ways, and one of my main anxieties lied with school; and two missing, but mandatory grades. Like a bit of help from above, they just so happened to have an ‘open day’ at main campus, and they were enrolling! I was given a map, and walked 20 minutes the wrong direction before I realized at what end of the city the school was located. There, I found several advisors who presented me with options, options I had never even heard of before; I was interested in getting into a CAVA course in the field of social science and humanities. Out of the subjects offered, I wanted to study psychology, sociology and cultural studies as my A-levels. The only problem being that UK and Norway have different grade- and school systems, thus, I had issues transcribing one to the other. This lead me on a great hunt, chasing down school-transcripts all the way back to elementary school. Knowing next to nothing about this course, I might’ve gone through a lot of trouble with little reward, as didn’t know whether this form of education would be accepted as an approved form of university eligibility in the Norwegian school system. Another issue that arose was that I had not found a place to live yet, and I was in need of an address! This therefore became the preconditions that was laid out, and I needed to get back by wednesday to get enrolled. It was make or break time, so I did everything in my power get it done.

Saturday came along, and I had spent the evening before translating my CV from Norwegian to English. While the sim-card I bought on the way over to the bar. The manager seemed pleased with what I had to offer of experience, and thus asked me to come back for a trial-shift on Monday. The rest of the day was spent looking for a place to live. Sure enough, a contract got signed, and the deposit got paid already the next day. Thus, I had scored myself and address.

Monday was trial-shift day, and I’d say I did an alright job, with the exception of confusing the value of the coins which I was not accustomed to yet (oops), “I promise, I’ll get into this soon enough!” I apologized. They must have believed me as I was called up the same night with the message to come by and sign my contract preferably the next day. Although my life in UK seemed to fall in place, piece by piece, all I needed was a few more transcripts to get enrolled.

The next day, I called up all the schools I had not received a response from yet and asked them to send the transcripts over. Moreover, I found out that I was not able to get financial support from neither the Norwegian - or UK system, and so I made arrangements to get the £4000 from elsewhere. I showed up at college around noon that day, with all my transcripts and what-not printed, and I was met with the news that I was in the right age group to get exempted from the tuition fees. Oh bless! All I needed to do was sign, and from thereon after I was in the school system. While the rest of the day was spent setting up a bank account, and receiving proof of address in UK.

I was so relieved that everything had worked out well, and I felt proud for having the courage to dive in and embrace my ‘new life’. Everything was coming together just as it should, and it was a sought after feeling! My previous year had been characterized by loss: loss of family members in addition to losing my full-time job as a consequence of the financial crisis. Like previously mentioned, I was desperately in need of a new scenery, and in just under a week I had achieved that. I had an apartment, a new job, I was getting enrolled into school and most of all, I was excited!

That year turned out just great!
At school I was the only foreigner attending, while at work foreigners were the majority - and what interesting people I had the pleasure to meet, from both near and far - some of them I’ll claim are friends for life!

Inkedschool certificate_LI.jpg

And here comes today’s rant. After graduating I made a facebook post which summarized my frustration with the Norwegian school system:

As you might know, then I'm quite fond of travelling. I have for a very long time used this as an argument for putting my studies on hold. In addition to not being entirely satisfied with the Norwegian school system. While my peers have already graduated with master's degrees and obtained their bachelors, then I am more than happy to say that I have finally completed my A-levels (university eligibility), and I did so through an Access Course. A form of higher education not accessible in Norway. If the Norwegian school system were to integrate this system I'm sure a whole lot more would consider a degree.

While VG (& Høyre) brags about a 40% difference in absence, then I can’t stop thinking that - I most likely, would have been part of the invisible statistics that would have dropped out of school due to 'fraværsgrensa'. A rule that is seemingly only beneficial to the resourceful students. Although I had indeed completed 8 A-levels and 3 years of college, then I was missing two crucial subjects, being Mathematics and Norwegian. The Norwegian subject requires 3 separate exams, where each exam costs £200, which will increase in price if you need to resit. That is a minimum of £800 just in exams. Thereafter comes the cost of books, and if you need tuition - well, then you have to pay for that too. Not to mention a low motivation to take up these subjects as they would benefit me next to none in terms of what I would like to study next.

Instead, I chose to get my degree done in England, a study formally known as 'Access Course in Humanitarian & Social Sciences', whereas I chose to study psychology, sociology and culture studies out of the subjects offered. All of them being relevant to what I'm about to study next. Some people view this course as a 'test year' for Uni, as it follows the University module, while the subjects being taught are A-level materials. In addition to the initial two A-level years being shortened to one.

I am therefore relieved to say that I passed with a B in total and have now been admitted, and already started my studies for a bachelor in International Development. *This route in life will take me to India first, where I will get acquainted with Peace and Conflict studies. Later on, more studies abroad awaits me, so whoever said I couldn't study and travel at the same time?👩🏻‍🎓🌎

Sort:  

Congratulations @nocompassnorway! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!