You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Importance of Learning How to Say ‘NO’ to Other People and Yourself...

in #mindset6 years ago

As a woman, we are culturally conditioned to please and take care of others. A sweet woman helps others and makes sure her family is happy even at her own expense. I was raised in the 60s and 70s as the face of women in the the work force began blooming.

Now a large percentage of American homes are single parent homes. If we don't make boundaries and say 'no' we will deplete ourselves.

As I aged one thing became clear, as a single woman, it seemed easier for others to ask favors. I was busy working full time and taking classes at college. No was necessary and I learned that using it when needed helped me to stay sane.

I got my degree and with the discipline I also learned a lot about communication and self care. Good article.

Posted using Partiko Android