Miniature Tanks and Airbrush Woes

in #miniatures3 years ago (edited)

Over the course of the past two days, I have resumed miniature painting, mainly for the purpose of creating better photos for my online catalogue. There have been some hiccups, as it were, unfortunately.

DSC_0138.JPG

To begin, I printed an additional heavy tank painting jig, along with a KV-2 and T-10M, as you may recall from an earlier post.

DSC_0139.JPG

The light grey colour of the primer is far better in photos than white resin, despite the fact that this particular primer is almost invisible on white resin. I am, of course, using grey resin for these miniatures.

DSC_0140.JPG

You probably can't tell from this image, but I had a problem with the primer running on the top of the KV-2 hull. This begins the airbrush woes; I discovered that my primer is a bit too thick for my airbrush, so I have to keep cleaning the airbrush and CONSTANTLY fiddle with the various controls to get the coverage and consistency that I want.

DSC_0141.JPG

I ordered both airbrush flow improver and filtering funnels from Micro-Mark, but they are back-ordered, so I'm stuck being frustrated when I try to paint for who-knows-how-long.

DSC_0142.JPG

Luckily, the primer isn't as critical as the top-coat.

DSC_0143.JPG

These two images serve only to illustrate just how small these models are. Trust me, I'm getting to the base-coloured models shortly.

DSC_0144.JPG

With that out of the way, here are the base-coated models, starting with the KV-2.

DSC_0145.JPG

DSC_0146.JPG

DSC_0147.JPG

I missed some spots, I know, but it's good enough for now. Admittedly, the airbrush paint is better than the primer, as it is specially formulated for airbrushes, but without proper cleaning supplies (airbrush cleaner is also backordered), the entire process is so frustrating that mistakes become excusable in the name of "not tearing my hair out."

DSC_0148.JPG

DSC_0149.JPG

DSC_0150.JPG

The T-10M came out much better, I think. Then again, I was much more conscientious with this one. In any case, I'm still not done. I have to paint the tracks black, which will be done by hand (i.e. with an old-fashioned brush).

DSC_0151.JPG

By the way, this last image is supposed to be my cover image. Would one of you kindly tell me if that actually worked?

Sort:  

I do not see that last image as the post cover photo. It is just the initial picture.

Are you on PeakD or hive.blog? On the former, you can edit the post, open the advanced settings, and reset the cover photo even after a post goes live, if I am not mistaken. I don't know about the native Hive interface.

I'm using hive.blog, and I can do that too. In fact, when I went to, the cover image had been reset to the first for some reason. I think it worked this time.

It looks right from here now, too.