"Night Howl" (Monochromatic Minimalist Illustration)

in #minicontest6 years ago

The Wolf



A howl is heard
in the dead of night
a shadow seen
on the hill
between the trees
a pair of golden eyes
strikes fear into the hearts
of those who trespass
in his territory.
this beast is
the beautiful wolf


Stacey Mailhiot

That is a beautiful poem by Stacey Mailhiot. Hi everyone I just want to share my entry to @gulugu 's Second Minimalist Drawing Contest you can check it here. I'm really thankful that I was able to saw this post. Because I've been looking for art related contests that wont require much work, because I'm little bit busy this week. I think this contest fits for me well, because of the title itself, minimal drawing contest. This won't require that much work, we just need to be creative and create entry that is minimal but will looks outstanding.

So that what leads me in Illustrating this artwork. This is the first concept that came out of my mind, since the theme should be minimal I've tried to minimize everything. I've used basics shapes and silhouette to have to its minimal feel. I also used Monochromatic way of coloring (meaning, using only one shade of color, I've used color blue). My subject here is a wolf, basically he's into the woods. Into the woods he gloriously howls under the full moon, I mean admit it, just seeing wolf hold on a full moon brings so much feels, you know what I mean. So here it is, I hope you like it.

"Lone Wolf"


wolf-v3.png

You can check the process here:

Process

The Software I used here is Adobe Illustrator CC

First I start from a rough sketch, you can check my drawing below, and Imported it to Illustrtor

1.png

Next I start tracing my sketch and filling it up with shapes, I've used pentool

2.png

Next is the tress, (A pine tree I think :D)

3.png

4.png

5.png

6.png

Next is the mountain, I'm only using basic shapes here

TIP

Take note of this tip guys, when you draw or illustrate something, for ex. a scenery. Take note that if object/elements of your drawing goes farther the more it becomes lighter or the more it fades away. Like in my work, the subject, Wolf, has the darkest shade of color, meaning he's the closest to our point of view. Next is the tress (which have lighter shade), and then the mountain (has lighter shade than tress, meaning it is farther away from tress) and so on. I hope you get that one guys.

7.png

Next the beautiful sky

8.png

Next is thing I did is to clean up everything, and put my illustration to a perfect circle

9.png

10.png

11.png

12.png

It's neat and clean now, looking good

13.png

To make it perfect, I've added circle to serve as a moon and little twinkling starts

14.png

And added a glow to it to make the night perfect, and its ready to save.

15.png

Thanks for checking my work guys, have a nice day


DQmZmm9ShYYVHVxkjug738FSZZjdpVBThwPcTNfYYEPMvbE.png

This work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

That's all guys thanks checking my work, have a nice day

And you can also check this awesome bloggers ✍

@mikaelasinsuat4
@dandalion
@qyugmo
@ishanvirtue
@ediah
@jgonzalez2134
@looserwin
@kennik

Please do support

@slothicorn
@sndbox
@surpassinggoogle
@steemgigs
@steemph
@stateofthearts
@steemitachievers
@steemitfamilyph
@artzone

DQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj_1680x8400.png