Big News! I am now a mentor with The Minimalists!

in #minimalism6 years ago (edited)

Yes, the actual Minimalists from the Netflix movie.

Which is why I have been having a little identity meltdown lately haha! I have been posting a lot about this time of personal transformation for me. That's because I have journeyed from some hard stuff in my life... I pulled myself down a long hard road, and its starting to manifest into some real dreamy amazing outcomes lately! While its fun, and yes i am still having a LOT of fun with it, it also presents all kinds of new challenges for me as a human. I am sure this has happened to others, when you finally get to where have been striving to go, and then you are like WAIT WHAT ?? I AM DOING IT NOW????

This is Ryan at my graduation when I got my master's degree a few years ago. He has always been one of my most supportive friends. I love Ryan with all my heart and asked him if I could share about my new Mentor thing on my blog, and he said yes. I never really try to leverage that friendship because I dont want anything to get in the way of us being friends, I don't care that he is famous. That is not why we are friends. But at the same time, I want you all to know that I am doing this great stuff! So its a balance. I also want you all to know I am representing myself, not Ryan or the Minimalists, when I share here.

I like this picture a lot for this moment because I feel like I am graduating again. See, here is dear Ryan being amazing as usual:

ryan.jpg

The past week has been a trip and a half through uncharted emotion. I didnt know if I wanted to share here. Thanks to advice from others I decided I could blog about what is coming up for me, while I decide whether to share this great news here on Steemit. The one reason I was hesitant was because I didnt want to share my real identity here. Its been fun to be dflo and to open up in ways I wouldnt have with my real name.

So now my challenge will be to stand before you all with the same amount of excitement and pride, and keep on being dflo!

I still want to post art and poetry. But I was getting so stuck because of this dilemma over sharing my identity here.

Here is the link to ME on the Minimalists website ! <3

As of about a week ago, I am officially a consultant / mentor through the Minimalists website. You can see my listing here

So what that means , is I am listed there and people can come to me for coaching. I am not being paid by the Minimalists any wage outside of whatever clients come my way, so that means I am looking for clients, and while this is amazing, I still have to do the marketing work to make it into an income generating thing, until people discover me on the site.

I want you all to know I am available to do this kind of work, and that I am trying to brainstorm ways to contribute these skills to the platform as well. Some things I am trying to figure out for example is maybe a podcast, or a radio show, or a vlog. Not just about Minimalism but about all my interests, which you can see in that link , and in my posts.

Little by Little...

I have to do this all one step at a time because meanwhile, while I am figuring that out, I am juggling similar startup opportunities here in Missoula.

I am studying for the LCSW exam so I can take peoples insurance and offer therapy to artists and activists in my own wacky nontypical nonheirarchal zany artsy therapist way.

I am trying to start up some peer groups and classes locally also.

I just joined a co-working space at an awesome local magazine's shared office.

I just got hired as an online communication coach, too!

A lot is going on for me!

But none of this is generating real income yet, so its a scramble --- while money / time is running out.

This ticking clock makes me susceptible to a lot of fear and anxiety. I apologize for this in advance!!! I owe many , many thanks to people like @tanishqeverma , @soundwavesphoton, @juliakponsford, @meno, @veckinon, @crimsonclad, @t3, @phedizzle, @aggroed, and many more who i am forgetting right now I am sorry, for supporting me while i spout my insecurities all over the place! Its been invaluable to me to have friends to turn to during my moments of worry. I take your words and support to heart. You have helped me very much.

Some thoughts on transparency

On the blockchain, everything is transparent, and that is a huge part of the value system here. I like it.

I embrace and accept the multifaceted weaknesses and strengths in others, and I am every day working to embrace and accept those things in myself (cuz that is always harder!! ) :)

So that is what I am doing here you guys. I am showing you who I am, and saying, here it is in all its glory!!!

I will tell you the story of how I met the Minimalists, soon. But suffice to say they are awesome people, they lived in my town, and we have been friends for years. We have had many a good time, and I look forward to this new path that I am on that includes them.

Ok, go ahead and google me now. lol

Love,

dflo,

poet
activist
mom
therapist
coach
mentor
artist
nature lover
organizer
life wanderer
curious human
intuitive dreamer
oh. and i think i am funny.

Sort:  

Hey @dflo, good for you. I came across "The Minimalists" documentary on Netflix. Since then I have been a fan ... Currently I am working my way through their podcasts on Soundcloud ...

That's great! Nice to meet you.

Likewise ... Keep well. Later, Shaun ... 🌝

Oh wow, you really do have a lot going on! Well I am glad that you still manage to make some time for the peeps in the chatroom!

One Love!

Congratulations @dflo!! I am so happy to hear the exciting new directions your life has been taking lately and hope that they should lead you to health and wealth,whatever that means for you. You deserve it. And yes you are pretty funny. Woohoo!

congrats dflo!!
"oh. and i think i am funny." i think that too :p
/t3

So much good news at once! Congrats! It is a gift to be seen, to share. Enjoy being the sunshine and the full moon.

Thank you my sweet friend. You know that you were instrumental in things for me as well. You should come hang out with us in the Discord chats. I can help you find things. xo

Congrats @dflo!

I also think I am funny, don't get a lot of laughs though.

Happy to have found you and look forward to seeing more of your work <3

I enjoy laughing at my own wacky humor haha, some people say you shouldn't laugh at your own jokes but I say any excuse to feel happy is fine by me ! :).

Totally! I very much agree :)

This is a pretty awesome next step in your life!

That's amazing dflo, super inspiring. I watched their movie a year ago and I have shed a lot of unneeded things in the past year, very happy :)

Yeah I am excited about it, thanks! I feel a lot better with less stuff too! It's an ongoing process for me.

This is amazing dflo!!! I've been a long time believer than the most important thing we need in life is a powerful purpose!!

This is special in more ways than one, not only because it attempts to bring some balance to our cluttered, consumer oriented way of life... but because it means that you become an agent of action, you won't just participate, you will educate...

I'm super proud of you!

Thank you, i am sort of swimming in possibilities and ideas, and I hope it all becomes super clear soon for how I can apply this here at Steemit!

Congrats to you 💕 hope it all goes smoothly I don’t know what the minimalists is but I guess I will go check it out!

Thanks! They are people who promote a lifestyle of living simply. They tour the world sharing about this with their fans, and they also have a couple books out, and a Netflix documentary. They are also great people and really sincere in their efforts to help others, and I really am excited and honored to be associated with them.

congrats, you are a lucky one to have many good friends around .

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dflo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Yay! This sounds like a great opportunity for you!! Life is a complicated convoluted journey that doesn't always make sense. Then one day, something happens and new direction emerges. I'm excited for you and wish much success along this new direction for you. <3

Congratulations Dflo,
Great News the other day I read something about minimalist in one of your posts and now I see you are a mentor. YAY!
Many many congratulations!
and and you missed the 'y' in my name :P
I was blaming things on gina :)

Yes we give so much of ourselves away here on Steemit but still go by these silly pseudonames. Its strange, but ok. I like you promoting your business here, it is afterall a very moral and not much profit making business. Go for it.

except... some profit would be nice lol :) :) :)

Absolutely! Call in the abundance!

Congratulations and all the best dflo!

Congratulation ☺ wish you all the best.

Congratulations.
look so happy life

Wow. Congratulations! It's great to see somebody from Minimalist community here on Steemit. I am looking forward your posts :-)
I am also minimalist. I am writing about Adventures of Simplicity here on Steemit. :-)

Yayy! I will follow! Nice to meet you!

That's so awesome! I love their podcast.