Learning How to Art

in #minimalist2 years ago

For a while now, I've seen those cute faceless pictures that all of my college girl friends have. You know the ones where they outline the photo and make it look cute? Well, I decided today to try and make one!

Thankfully I have a touchscreen computer and a handy pen that connects to it so that I could draw on any photo I choose. I also have a free software on my computer called Paint 3D which I put to the test with this drawing. Of course, I decided to choose a Star Wars character - Ezra Bridger.

I experimented first with several different photos before I settled on this one:

pic_1.jpg

Here is the link to the original picture.

Ezra Bridger is the main character in a Star Wars animated TV show called Rebels. At first he annoyed me, but I grew to love his character and the arcs that he went through.

I decided to start with the face because that is the defining characteristic of this style.

pic_2.jpg

Things got more complicated when I moved down to his shirt, but instead of coloring over the details, I decided to try and incorporate them into my design.

pic_4.jpg

I also decided to keep some of the shadows of the original picture, and that meant changing the color of Ezra's back arm. I was worried about it looking weird, but I thought it made a nice contrast.

pic_6.jpg

The next major challenge was drawing the lightsaber. I experimented a bit on another page and decided to just cover the white with green and to erase the glow from the rest of the picture. However, next time I intend to try a different style.

pic_8.jpg

I then did some minor details in the shoes and voila!

ezra_bridger.jpg

My first minimalist art piece. Thank you for viewing!

Sort:  

!LUV

@parisf, sorry! You need more $LUV to use this command.

The minimum requirement is 10.0 LUV in your liquid wallet.

More LUV is available from Hive-Engine or Tribaldex