A new graphic card for my DDR2 budget mining rig

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians

Recently i found a good graphic card deal on a local selling website that suites my budget and made my order, i received the card yesterday & made some several tests and it's working properly.

I bought a used Sapphire 7850 2GB Dual-X graphic card wich cost me 58$ it's in a good condition and looks like it's previous owner didn't use it that much & wasn't hard on it!
IMG_1254.jpg

It's a small card compared to the 7950
IMG_1507.JPG
IMG_1510c.jpg

I put them both on the x16 PCI-E lanes and here's how they look on the mobo
IMG_1513.JPG
IMG_1515.JPG
If you noticed the mobo is dusty well we had some sandstorms and im tired of cleaning it everytime lol.

The reasons why i bought the 7850:

  • The price is good for a used HD 7850
  • It consumes less power (acceptable) ~ 130W
  • It's a good one in price/hashrate compared to other cards (RX 460 - R7 370 2GB versions)

Now it's time for the benchmarks

  • Equihash
    I need to mention that when i let the miner uses default intensity my 7950 doesn't hash at all only the 7850 will hash, so i had to set the intensity in 4 using -i 4 in the mining command!
    equihash.jpg
    Im mining Zclassic using Claymore's ZCash AMD GPU Miner v12.4

  • CryptoNight
    I had to remove the 7950 so it can show you the 7850 hashrates, Claymore's monero miner doesn't show how much hashrate is for each GPU!
    cryptonight.jpg
    Im mining Monero using Claymore CryptoNote GPU Miner v9.7 Beta

Here's what i get from mining the whole day via Whattomine.com
wtm.jpg
wtm1.jpg

Overall it's a good budget graphic card, it does the job well, cheap and doesn't heat up that much.


Thanks for reading, i hope you like my article, feel free to ask me about anything and i will answer you
Have a good day.

Sort:  

Nice to see you get started mining, I remember my first days of mining starting with a cpu then moving to the Nvidia 750 ti on up to building 6 card GPU rig setups.

That's nice to hear, when exactly did you start mining? and wich coins?

I started playing around with it when you could get ripple for Boinc mining https://forum.ripple.com/viewtopic.php?t=4428 mostly just learning and did not get serious about it until this year