My GPU Mining Rig

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

Occasionally, I have to clean and lubricate the graphics cards' fans on my mining rig. As it is an open case, dust can easily get into the parts, and I have to go in there with some keyboard cleaner and oil. The reason for the open case is because it is a lot easier to make changes to the rig when upgrading or when diagnosing problems. The other reason is that there is a lot of heat generated from multiple cards and it is harder to fit so many cards into a closed case (there exists GPU server chassis, however).

Recently, I found one of the cards had a stopped fan, and it was not responding in the mining software. I thought it just needed a little cleaning and lubrication to the fans, but this was not the case. It turned out the fan motors themselves had burned out. I found a replacement online, and installed it:

Here is the rig back in operation!


 

Follow me! @bitcoiner

Sort:  

Interesting chore that can actually make money for you!

Your frame looks great, very solid built! Where did you get it from or is this a DIY thing?
Will post about my newly created rig, soon.

I found it on eBay!

Maybe I'll put a tutorial on the stuff I'm building... mind telling what all your mining?

I've mostly been mining Ethash coins (Ethereum and others) and Equihash coins (ZCash and others) because they are the most profitable for GPUs.

This looks nice, I wonder if it makes lots of noise.

Thank you! And yes, it's noisy and hot!

Thanks for responding, good luck with mining.

what graficcards do you use to mine?
how much power does this consume and what hashrates do you get?

These are AMD R9 280X from MSI. The whole rig consumes about 1000 Watts. On Equihash, I get 300 H/s with Claymore's miner.

Awesome blog post!

Check out also BTC tips&tricks posts
@Styxer
Thanks!

Thank you for lend me steem power, I will use it wisely :)

very nice set up .... keep it up

its great :D i hope one day i will have same :D