Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce 6GB Mining Power Consumption

in #mining7 years ago

After a few days watching youtube and reading blogs and tutorials on mining, I tried experimenting on a few minings and it sure feels satisfying. One of the biggest concern for me to invest more on mining is figuring how much my PC will draw power for it, I spent a whole day researching on PC power consumption, but couldn't get any definite answer for I can't find any reviews of my Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6gb Watt usage on full load, 75% and 65% as I read that the GPU is best on that power limit, best I can do is getting an estimate. I am desperate to must confirm my power consumption before buying another GPU for mining, so I looked on ways to find out the power consumption. The simplest way is to buy a Watt Meter, just simply plug the watt meter to the wall and your psu to the watt meter, so I went to some hardware and electrical store in my city but couldn't find one, I have to order online but I decided not to.
3049675_334cf317-f71c-42e3-88bc-938062ea9bb1.jpg

Instead, I looked for my friend who is quite familiar on electrical things and he suggested Clamp Meter and went on to borrow it from his uncle and brought it to my home.
325-01c-600x402.jpg
I thought it would be very easy as it just needs to clamp on my PSU cable and we can know the Ampere, but it turns not to not be as simple as that, the cable to be put inside the clamp must be a single cable, inside PSU cable is normally 2 or 3 smaller cables, so he built this.
20170920_014459.jpg
So, we plugged the PSU cable to this extension socket, then plug this extension socket to the wall socket. Using this enables us to clamp only 1 wire thus able to get the Amp reading, then using the Amp reading to multiply with the Volt and power factor to get the Watt power my PC is consuming.

This is the power consumption of my PC with specs as below :

  1. CPU : i5-6600k
  2. Mobo : Asus H110m-d d4
  3. Ram : Corsair 1x8gb ddr4 value select
  4. GPU : Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6gb
  5. HDD : 1 TB Seagate 7200 rpm
  6. PSU : Seasonic S12ii 620w Bronze 80+
  7. Fans : 1 cpu fan, 5 120mm case fans

-Power Outlet draw is 220Volts
-We did not include power factor in the calculation to estimate higher cost
-If you want to know the Amp (Amp = Watt/Volt)
-To get only the GPU power consumption, just minus it with the PC idle power consumption
-Sample mining is done on Nicehash for 5 minutes with each configuration when measuring Amp
-Overclock applied is Core clock +152MHz, Memory clock +700MHz on Gigabyte Extreme Engine Gaming

The result :

  1. PC idle : 62.7 watt

Mining Not Overclocked

  1. 100% Power limit : 174.9 watt
  2. 75% Power limit : 145.2 watt
  3. 65% Power limit : 130.9 watt

Mining Overclocked

  1. 100% Power limit : 176 watt
  2. 80% Power limit : 152.9 watt
  3. 75% Power limit : 145.2 watt
  4. 65% Power limit : 132 watt

I then benchmark for Lyra2Rev2 algorithm on equihash to find out the hash rate and find the best profit to cost ratio and the current best is overclocked 65% configuration.

This is just an information I want to share to anyone maybe using the same GPU as me, because I couldn't find it anywhere.
I learned a lot on mining from reading blogs from @crypto2day and @evilmonkey , do check them out if you're a beginner like me wanting to learn
I still have a lot to learn, and slowly beginning my adventure in mining

I do have some doubt on my Overclock setting wondering if it is safe to increase core and memory clock while under powering, if anybody here knows anything about it please do share the knowledge

Thanks

Sort:  

I didn't think mining was profitable any more due to asic's...How much do you pay for electricity?

@leinad13 $0.09/KWh
Currently earning after deduct electricity $25/month if bitcoin price remains the same
small, but it's a start

Bitcoin mining is not but there are other coins that are mined in a different way so that asics could not mine that coins.

It also depends of coin for example eth mining with claymore takes less power than zcash mining on ewbf.