GPU Cryptocurrency Mining - MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X Card

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

The MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X GPU is the most profitable GPU for mining cryptocurrency at this time.

1080.jpg

I bought this graphics card in July after my son, an avid gamer, convinced me that it would "pay for itself in a few weeks". At the time the card was rated by Whattomine.com to be generating a daily profit of over $8. With a ROI of only 90 days it seemed like a good idea. As an added bonus, I got his old GTX 970 GPU card that I was able to put in a dedicated mining computer and mine with full time.

The MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X card uses the Nvidia Geforce GTX 1080 Ti graphic processor chip and comes with an incredible 11GB of GDDR5X memory. It is packed with 3584 Cuda cores and a core clock speed of 1569 Mhz. There are two 8 pin 12V power connectors, so you need at least a 500 watt power supply to run this card. The 1080 Ti is based on the new Pascal architecture, which means it delivers a lot of power for the amount of energy consumed, an extremely important feature in cryptocurrency mining.

To see how much money you can make mining different coins with this GPU, go to Whattomine.com and select the 1080 Ti card and enter your electricity rate. Since this card is in my son's computer sitting in his dorm room currently, the electricity cost is $0. Which is nice.

1080what.JPG

Whattomine will then display the most profitable coins to mine. As shown below, Monacoin, is currently the most profitable followed by Zcash.

1080coin.JPG

Below is a screen shot showing this card mining Zcash using EWBF's CUDA Zcash miner.

1080hash.jpg

As you can see, this card mines at a significantly higher rate than Whattomine has listed as the predefined rates. That's because the Gaming X Edition has a higher Core and Boost clock rate than other versions of 1080Ti cards. This gives it approximately 15% better hash rate when mining Equihash algorithm coins like Zcash. When I plug in the actual hash rate into Whattomine, I get the profitability list below.

1080coin2.JPG

So this card really does well mining Equihash coins and now we see that Zcash is the most profitable followed by several other Equihash based coins.

Until next time...

Sort:  

Visiting a fellow MAW member (again!) I haven't looked at the economics of a home based mining rig(s), but if BTC and the other alt tokens continue to rise, I'm sure it's profitable.

Thanks for stopping in, MAW members are always welcome! At current prices, it is profitable to mine at home, but with the big surge in new mining rigs coming online last summer the profit margins have gotten pretty thin.

Great post, I am debating whether to buy 1 of this or two 1060 6gb ones.... I guess for Ethash the two 1060s would make more sense but after reading your post and seeing what the 1080 can do on Zcash I am indecisive, I mean 735 SOL/s .. DAMM!!

I have seen it peak at just over 760 SOL/s, but 735-740 seems to be about the average. The 1060 6gb is definitely a nice card, especially considering the price and delivers a very good Ethash mining rate if you ever want to switch mining to ETH. Definitely a tough choice.

As long as you don't try to do Eth the 1080Ti is a beast. Profitability in mining is becoming almost non-existent though at this point unless something major changes. If you have free power or already own the hardware, I would do a lot of research before investing much into it.

This card is awesome!

I'm glad you like it ;)

Nice card. Thanks 4 sharing!

Thank you, glad you liked it.

Gregory-f can you do a post about mining? It is something I don't much about but want to learn. Kinda like a mining-for-dummies thing. I know a lot about pc's but the only use I have for a 1080 ti is 4k gaming :)

Sure, I'd be happy to. I'll try to get one posted today or tomorrow.

thanks for updating us again with your knowledge about mining really valuable for me : )

Thank you, I'm glad it helped you.

how much is this card cost?
and have you got advise for newbie miner if i got like 300$ per month to spent for mining

Currently, it is $759 at newegg. For about $300 you can get a GTX 1060 6gb which isn't nearly as fast, but is a great card for the price and is a little more versatile in some of the coins it can mine profitably like ETH.

is it better to buy 1 powerful card or buy 2-3 cheap cards? what is more profitable in terms of mining .

Unfortunately that requires a little bit of fortune telling, because you need to look into the future to see where prices are going. At this moment in time it is slightly more economical to by one really good card like this one instead of two less expensive cards. But that could change tomorrow depending on market conditions.

@gregory-f,
Wow this is a very useful article for me! I am mining XMR, BCN, AEON all based on cryptonote algorithm! But I lie to give a try to another coin! Hope I will have more questions for you! Very useful article and thank you very much for sharing with us!

Cheers~

I'd be happy to help answer your questions if I can.

@gregory-f,
That would be a great help!

Thanks~

fantastic information, thanks for sharing.

My pleasure, thanks for your feedback.

thanks for sharing

I like the idea of placing a computer in a dorm room for the free electricity. I am considering doing the same in my office as electricity, wifi etc is included in the co-op space rent.

Might as well use it if it's already included.

waw 8 $ a day is alot i, reached my maximum of 1.50$ haha, big difference!

Yeah, it was over $8 a day when I ordered it. By the time it was delivered and installed, it was down to about $6 a day.

is it still doing 6$ a day ? :)

Right now, it's making about $5 a day. Although, last month it was over $11 a day.

Sorry.. but how is that? "Since this card is in my son's computer sitting in his dorm room currently, the electricity cost is $0." He produces his own electricity, maybe with solar panels on the roof? Btw, good post!

Electricity cost is $0 because electricity is provided in the cost of the dorm. Since we are not paying extra for the electricity it costs me nothing whether the miner is running or not.

oh great!

Running a Rig with 8x 1080Ti and I agree, at today there is really nothing better in the mining space, especially with difficulty keeping increasing having a powerful card will prepare you to a big sell in the market for when everybody will change the cheap card for the powerful one.

I'm reading some interesting things about another Bitcoin fork at the end of this month. The new coin will be Bitcoin Gold and will switch to the Equihash algorithm. If so, the 1080Ti will rule mining that coin.

Correct and correct, only problem: I'm seeing less attention than with Bitcoin Cash and Equihash is not exactly a simple algo, if the price will not be around BTC or ZEC I'm not sure it will be possible to make good return out of it. But we will see!

True, but the way I look at it, after the fork, a lot of hash power will be pulled away from other coins making all of them more profitable to mine.

Correct! I guess we just have to wait and see which coins are going to be on the top of the list

fantastic information

Thank you!

Hello Crypto community:)

Could someone give me a rough idea about how much would i need to spend to run a bitcoin server at home do i have to invest more then $2000 and it would be great if you could list the equipment with the prices.

Also any links would be appreciated.

Many thanks in advance:)
HC

$1265 will get you a Bitmain Antminer S9 rated at 13.5TH/s here's the link: https://shop.bitmain.com/productDetail.htm?pid=000201709281019141777wvS8I1g068C

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Congratulations @gregory-f! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a $8.08 @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @gregory-f
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gregory-f to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!