Cooling Considerations for Mining

in #mining7 years ago

My roommate and I moved into a new apartment and stumbled into a problem. It is a little bit too hot in our kitchen.
20170714_190054.jpg
90°F (95F outside)
Somehow the bananas on our counter got even hotter than 90F. I might try using bananas as heat sinks for these 1060s.
20170714_190206.jpg
Anyway, together our mining rigs require about 3,000W and immediately turn it all into heat. Common issue yes? Yes, so the solution must be as janktastic as possible to reduce cost.

The first thing we attempted was adding more cold air. It was sketchy. I'm talkin craigslist-ad-grade, high wattage, missing pieces, no name equipment combined with Wal-Mart level materials sketchy.
20170714_185741.jpg
We developed a professional fire hazard. Its profession is collecting fire insurance claims.
20170714_185717.jpg
The idea was to take undersized scrap AC components and fit it all together inside a wooden box with foam (mildly flammable(acctually it burns pretty well)) to deaden the compressor vibration noise. I must say, the high gloss finish turned out nice.
We ended up spending way more money on materials and energy. The whole system leaked hot air and had no way of self regulating temperature because the sensor was missing. Perfect. The metal components became so hot that I was sure it would catch on fire. No fire extingusher or safety precautions were implemented. This was done intentionally. I couldn't deprive our profesional fire hazard of collecting its claim. I had to give it all the chance in the world. Like a parent I helped bring it into this world and would do anything to help it succeed.

The box did help reduce the noise but our kitchen is still very hot. Next idea is containing the hot air and blowing it out the window. It is sure to work. Im positive. Absolutely nothing can go wrong.

Any other ideas would be appreciated.

Sort:  

I might have a decent suggestion - use some fans made for green houses (I think). and containing and blowing it out - errr the fans are here...


https://www.amazon.com/Urban-Farmer-Inch-Inline-Booster/dp/B01HSEGD9W/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1500090166&sr=8-6&keywords=greenhouse+fan

I considered something like this myself at one point, but, I just decided to take my shelf (similar to yours) and put it next to a window and put a outbound box fan in.
https://steemit.com/mining/@yminesandblogs/question-the-mechanics-of-pushing-and-pulling-air

I'm not sure how much air exchange you'll need to keep the machine cool.

Just off the top of my head you could consider throwing a plexiglass box over it and routing a few of these fan in push-pull configuration out a window using the same kind of tubing you used for your exhaust of your AC.

I haven't done this myself so I don't know for sure, I'd look into how much air you would have to move and account for the fact that there might be some distance between the fan on the hose... You know stuff that might require an engineer or HVAC person lol.


upvoted.

Our plan C is making a box that we can put on the patio and circulate outside air. There are space restrictions and we are dealing with 100F + air to cool cards. I was messing with some thermodynamic formulas to figure out how fast the rigs would heat up different volumes of air. So far my rough estimates are 4.88 seconds to heat 27ft^3 from 73F to 100F with 3,000 watts. So we would need to exchange the air faster than that. I figured 3 200mm 129CFM fans should do the trick.

Too bad there aren't too many things that we can think of that we can use this heat for...

Wow that's one serious looking rig you got there! What's the hash on this if you don't mind me asking? Sorry I'm a newb when it comes to these things but it's fascinating for sure!

Best of luck in reducing that heat!

Thanks! That rig has 9 gtx 1060s mining ethereum at 206 Mh/s. 1350W power consumption. I ordered an online fan as @yminesandblogs had suggested. Currently designing and constructing a corrugated plastic box to circulate outside air... inside. No more warm bananas. Stay tuned. Results will be posted.

nice post , upvoted ,followed, hope you will visit my blog

Hola @klondike, upv0t3
Este es un servicio gratuito para nuevos usuarios de steemit, para apoyarlos y motivarlos a seguir generando contenido de valor para la comunidad.
<3 Este es un corazón, o un helado, tu eliges .

: )


N0. R4ND0M:
3607 6429 7521 3623
3831 6817 2982 5353
8729 3231 6791 5945
6591 6603 5481 2121

Congratulations @klondike! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Croatia


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @klondike! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!