You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to mine ETH with GPU on your Mac

in #mining7 years ago

Hello! This is the first tutorial I found that works for gpu mining on my Mac. Thanks you! I do want to use my GTX 970 eGPU (device 0)instead of my MBP's graphic card (device 1). The devices are recognized by eth.

Last login: Wed Sep 13 15:43:46 on ttys002
MacBook-Pro:~ marksnyder$ cd desktop/eth
MacBook-Pro:eth marksnyder$ ./ethminer -G --list-devices

Listing OpenCL devices.
FORMAT: [platformID] [deviceID] deviceName
[0] [0] HD Graphics 4000
CL_DEVICE_TYPE: GPU
CL_DEVICE_GLOBAL_MEM_SIZE: 1610612736
CL_DEVICE_MAX_MEM_ALLOC_SIZE: 402653184
CL_DEVICE_MAX_WORK_GROUP_SIZE: 512
[0] [1] GeForce GTX 970
CL_DEVICE_TYPE: GPU
CL_DEVICE_GLOBAL_MEM_SIZE: 4294967296
CL_DEVICE_MAX_MEM_ALLOC_SIZE: 1073741824
CL_DEVICE_MAX_WORK_GROUP_SIZE: 1024
MacBook-Pro:eth marksnyder$

Do you know that there's a way to do it? I tried adding -U but that didn't work. I ran -X but appears to be only running my MBP's card. I was given this message: CUDA support disabled when adding -U. Configure project build with -DETHASHCUDA=ON. I don't know how to use it though. If I add --opencl-device 0 to the string connects and I get speeds of Speed 0.00 Mh/s gpu/0 0.00 [A0+0:R0+0:F0] Time: 00:00. Any ideas? TIA, Mark

Sort:  

Have you tried compiling with -DETHASHCL=OFF -DETHASHCUDA=ON ?

Hi soon8013, Thanks for the reply. I have not been able to figure out how to complile with with -DETHASHCUDA=ON. What is the command? Thanks!

And have you installed cuda drivers for MAC?

My eGPU is running under Sierra. I use it for 3d rendering without a problem. I have mined bitcoin with it via Asteroid (a total waste of time and electricity). I am hoping to play around and mine a bit of Ethereum. Any suggestions? Thanks again.

From your log it looks like ur eGPU is device 1 and ur integrted graphics is device 0. Have you tried --opencl-device 1 instead of --opencl-device 0 ?