GPU power upgrade: Dual mining - double power, double trouble

in #mining6 years ago (edited)

It was once the era of the 960. Then the 1060. Now we double the hashpower and up the temperature a little bit.

1060sflaming.png

The original 1060 had long paid for itself, then the hashpower has been amped up to twice the rate. Two cards means twice the everything - including heat and power draw.

Before installing the second card I needed to upgrade the power supply to one that was 850W. As well I had to get a new motherboard, which required a new CPU as well. What a drag, it's a lot of money when you work hard for not much pay like everyone else. However the positive note is that the new CPU, a Ryzen 1600x can mine about 50 cents a day, a nice bonus. That should do me just fine.

Updated mining stats:

  • Temperature of GPU: 79 C
  • Combined hash rate: 460 H/s (Unspecified Equihash)
  • CPU hash rate: 380 H/s (Cryptonight)

In the overall scheme of things, it's not a huge amount. However it's a welcome contribution from my computer's idle time. In fact it's mining as I write this post, with very little slowdown in the interface. Nice!

mining.png

What will I do with all these riches you ask? I think the answer is obvious by now.

Convert it all into DOGE!!

TROLLFACE1.png

The best cryptocurrency.

Sort:  

At least it can keep you warm in winter. Can you sell on the old parts?

No they were pretty ancient, my last computer upgrade was going on 10 years ago... I am planning on using it as a server or mining computer though, since I have all working parts :)