You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: IF I WAS A MINNOW ON STEEMIT I WOULD... - PART 1

in #minnow7 years ago

Thanks for the insight cryptoctopus.
I never considered the strength of my comments being a way that I can leverage my minnow weight. I always commented on articles I they caught my eye while scrolling through and it engaged me somehow. Purposefully scrolling through the big gun's articles only would be a change.
As I read your article I considered what you were saying and thought of a possible negative drawback to focusing on only responses to high powered writers. I know you are not saying to only focus on that but here is my fear.
I only have so much time to look through and participate on here.
If I begin to focus my comments on high powered blogs that will consume my time on here. It means that I will not have the time/inspiration/writing capacity to comment on the underpowered blogs. I see this as a negative thing because a lot of great writers who are just starting out are definitely not here for the quick riches. They make their 3 cents a blog and move on to writing the next great piece for us. A lot of them say that what drives them is the responses and interaction their posts create. If I (and presumably others) drop that interaction as we focus on the high paying responses we run the risk of losing those "young" writers we are starting to attract.
Don't get me wrong, I love the idea of being rewarded for my comments and your advice will change where I spend some of my focus. I would just encourage your readers to remember the little guys as well. This goes along the lines of people who save their votes for high paying articles and don't "waste" their votes on low value yet well written content.
We have to balance things so that the entire ocean rises.
What are your thoughts on this as I have inconvenienced enough electrons in this long winded reply.

Sort:  

"... I love the idea of being rewarded for my comments and your advice will change where I spend some of my focus."

I reckon you have succinctly stated that there are more valuable rewards than $.02 votes. I have pretty much followed the same course you outlined you have, and I have no regrets, as I have become introduced to many good people, and their ideas and posts by that process.

I once had a post that generated <$100 in rewards, and that surprised me to the degree that I suffered no little cognitive dissonance, as the post was quite critical of the rewards system and ways that Steemit is designed that encourage financial manipulation - exactly the opposite result of what I expected to get from the post!

As a result of that I learned that just speaking my mind was probably every bit as potentially financially rewarding as pandering to whales, and, frankly, I am simply unable to long make pretense of interest in matters less valuable to me than fascinating ideas. I hope you find the same to be true, as your interactions with authors you like is exactly (IMHO) what social media is about.

Gaining some rewards for doing it is just icing on the cake. I bend nails and smash my thumbs for a living, and expect to continue that until I finally am too physically broken. Hopefully by then Steemit will have matured to the point where the rewards distribution is far less concentrated, and what little I need will be forthcoming.

Until then, interaction with agile minds and innovative folks is my dearest reward. Hopefully that is also preparation for that future when I can no longer work construction.

"We have to balance things so that the entire ocean rises."

True dat!

It is better in my opinion to focus on accumulating SP so that down the road you can help the people who are stuck at the bottom. As a minnow, you are not in position to help other minnow as much as you would if you had 1000 SP.