Minnow Of The Week: Together We Can Make The World A Better Place

in #minnowoftheweek6 years ago


people.jpg
Source

Steemit is like that great friend you meet when you least expect it. It came along at a time when I wasn’t even searching.

One early morning, my brother had called to tell me about this awesome platform that gave writers the opportunity to share their writings and get rewarded in return. It sounded too good to be true. I thought it was one of those get-rich online scams that raised people’s hopes so high up the sky and left them to fall so hard to the ground. I gave it the benefit of the doubt. And quite frankly, it turned out to be one of the best decisions I’ve made in my life.

My name is Chris. I’m a Writer. My brother had told me about Steemit because he knew that I could write. My main reason for joining Steemit was to share my stories both fiction and non-fiction. As a Writer, there’s a whole lot of things one wants to talk about. Having a platform to do that and get feedback is a good thing.

Blogging on Steemit is a great opportunity because unlike a regular blog where I have to work so hard to build a community of people to read my posts, Steemit already has a community, all I have to do is write good stories.

The moment I joined Steemit, I became inspired by the warmness and zeal in people to not only write but interact with one another. I was inspired to not only write but also become a part of the family. As a result of this, I decided to give back to the community in my own little ways. I am barely two months old on Steemit – I joined in December 2017. Having participated in a few contests, I decided to start organizing my own contest as a way of giving back to the community. I wanted to encourage other writers especially newbies like me to keep writing. I recently organized the first edition of the contest My Story My Truth . I hope to continue it to inspire more people.

Steemit has influenced my life positively. I can say that my writing has greatly improved due to my frequent writing.
I have learnt about cultures and people in different parts of the world from the stories I have read on here. Indeed, Steemit is making the world a better place, and I’m glad to be a part of that movement.
Thank you @runicar for giving me this opportunity.