Help please.,.COMPUTER ISSUE

in #minnowsunite7 years ago

If someone could please help me to figure out why the internet is not working on my computer..I moved recently, and took my computer from my old house to where I am now
..The new house has internet hooked up, a router and wifi.. I plugged my computer in its a windows 7 w a flat screen and the tower is built into the monitor., I hooked up a ether wire from my cimputer to my router, and a cable wire to the cable plug.The computer shows internet connection and hooked up to the network ( that is in the house) but then when trying to go online I get "Error code 541" does anyone have any advice please..I would greatly apprciate it....
Lauren

Sort:  

Why are you using an ethernet cable if you have wifi? Also, what did you connect the coax cable to? It should only be connected to the modem. If your computer has a wifi adapter, use it instead of the ethernet cable.

OK, i Connected the Coax cable to my modem..and i connected the ethernet cable from the modem to my computer. ( I thought they all had to connect) so i will take off the etherenet cable..THANK YOU..I will tell you how this turns out( im at work so when i go home today i will do that... THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH!!!!

Did you get it going?

Hi, no i didnt.....there is something wrong with the whole computer...when i turned it on last nite it gave me a weird msg of errors and weird codes, i looked it up and i have to replace a certian part of the computer. So im might go and get a new computer( referbished maybre) sometjing not expensive.,.but thank u so much for your help...i will use your advice for the replacement computer....

Sorry to hear that. At least you get a new computer though!

Yeah....that is a good way to look at it..thanks for your help.