Steemit Tip #1 for Minnows from Another Minnow

The first tip for success on Steemit is sometimes abbreviated RTFM. That's short for "read the effing manual" and it's good advice. As a librarian, I often found the information people were looking for by doing just that.  Usually they hadn't, but sometimes I could even find it when they were sure it wasn't there.

So what is the manual for Steemit? Let's start with the Welcome page and its Quick Start Guide. Reading on down that page, you'll find  these topics:

  • To Do List (that's for you, not for them)
  • Helpful Posts from Steemit Users
  • Users to Follow
  • Other Resources
  • Live Help
  • Third Party References

A lot of good advice there. 

Another Steemit page you could call a manual is the FAQs page.  It answers a LOT of questions. I've read it and found questions that I hadn't thought to ask, questions that I didn't understand, questions that I understood but couldn't understand the answer... and best of all, lots of questions where the answers were really useful. It's also divided into categories so you can skim for what you are trying to figure out at the moment.

I guess you could consider Google as a manual for everything, and it's useful here too. If you are researching a particular topic, let's say curation on Steemit, then going to the Big G and typing in steemit curation will give you a bunch of more-or-less useful things to read.

So that gives you three parts to a manual for Steemit.

There are many user guides to Steemit, some out of date, some not great, and some excellent. So consider the source as you read. I guess a corollary of RTFM should be "Don't automatically believe everything you read."

Happy steeming! It will eventually make more sense, a lot more sense. Success is possible if you keep at it! I know, I haven't gotten very far yet. This morning my account was worth 67 cents. BUT I've been successful at other things, online and off, and that carries over!

Tip #1 implies that there will be more. Yep, this is going to be a series and I do think it will be worth your while! (That's a broad hint that you might want to follow me.)

~~~~~~

Minnows are newbies here. I'm a minnow and here is something that might be a portrait of me. (It's from the free image site Pixabay and someone there thought it should come up when I searched for a minnow, even though the photographer didn't say that. I'll say it's me.)

Sort:  

minnow are not newbie, but most of them are. Minnows are poor accounts with low steempower

Thanks, @seveaux -- good catch. I'll tweak your correction a little. Maybe "small accounts with low steempower" would be more accurate. I don't feel like my account is poor even if it is small!