Sort:  

it looks like at least one of your suggestions was heard.

quiet.png

Yes! Isn't it amazing. And on the same day :)

I wonder how that happened :D

I like the suggestions. I have questions that I want to voice but find that it's difficult to get a good timing to ask them. And it's a little harder to make new friends as it seemed everyone else in general know each other pretty well. I'm awkward and with the rush of conversation, I'd probably be buried with all the catch-ups.

Come on over to the quiet-people channel :)
I will be there in a few hours and you can ask your questions and meet some people.
I promise you won't get lost in the rush.

It was a fantastic first day. Thank you!

Agreed in regards to the welcome landing channel.

Not so sure about the quiet minnow channel, moderating this would be difficult, what defines posting too often? perhaps a bot that mutes you for a minute if you post more than once every so often?

Clean hangout channel? Yeah no, this is too ambiguous and would be a nightmare to moderate, plus censorship goes against freedom of speech imo.

If someone is posting/commenting/communicating something consistently that you don't agree with, right click the user, hit mute, move on. <3

just my two steemtoshis. <3

I wouldn't want to complicate the quiet minnow channel quite that much.
The basic idea is for those of us who seek out a quieter chat - to self regulate as needed and make sure we are all happy with the pace and the atmosphere among ourselves. If someone isn't following the overall consenus and agreed upon comfortable pace we can ask them to find another channel.

As for the clean hangout channel I don't think that asking people to keep it respectable in one place is against overall freedom of speech because they aren't be being censored in the main channel. They can choose where they want to be. They can have their place of no censorship just like the rest of us can enjoy our time in a different way.

Discord is still new to me - I will remember people can be muted if they are consistently disagreeable.

Great suggestions @creativesoul! :)

Thanks! Here is to hoping the people that will be all in see this :)

It looks like you already have a small victory! Nicely done @creativesoul

I definitely find all those channels to be a great idea. The Welcome one alone would be worth the trouble.

Thanks for stopping by :)
The Quiet-People channel has just been added. Thank you so very much @swelker101!
Hopefully the Welcome one will happen sometime in the near future.

These are great ideas. I have tried Discord twice and was overwhelmed and ignored for so long I got tired of waiting for an answer and almost gave up. I did see those channels on the left side so thank you for doing this. I will stop by the Quiet Minnow Channel sometime now that I know there is a channel that is more my pace.

I think the first day went very well :)
Tonight I will be posting some rules that will ensure that everyone who comes in knows what to expect. Feel free to come by anytime with questions related to PAL or Steemit or just to relax. For right now the chat will probably be inactive during certain times it's two moderators can't be there. Eventually I hope the people who find this channel useful will say hello when I am asleep!

This is just the first day?
I am doing both and so are you!