The basics of how to become an AWESOME Steemit user who people WANT to follow. Very detailed and full of helpful info :D

in #minnowsupportproject7 years ago (edited)

Heeeeeey Fellow Steemerz


Contents:

  • Intro
  • Who to follow and some links
  • How to write look-good posts
  • Steemtools
  • Shoutouts


    "Come with me as we get into this now"

    Intro:


    So here I am going to spend the afternoon writing on who to follow, and how to write great, meaningful content here on Steemit. I will explain a few tricks and techniques I've picked up along the way. Now I must state, I am not an expert! I am not a professional writer, blogger, videographer, anything like that, I am just a regular guy who is getting really interested in life, and the way the future is moving. Especially when it comes to the crypto world, and when it comes time to document my travels, adventures and the things I get up to. Everything here is all in my opinion, and I have done my due dilligence to the best I can when it comes to tag everyone I have used for information to write this post. ... Please enjoy


    <>
    BE CAREFUL WHO YOU FOLLOW:

    Ok well I'm sure (and hope) most people know that to just follow anyone and everyone isn't a good way to start off on a social media platform, especially one which is built off personal behaviors. And if you didn't, well its not so don't do that on Steemit.
    Instead take the time to go through who you decide to follow, and some thought and effort behind it!
    Trust me, I know at the beginning you want to go go go, get as many people as you can, try grab as many followers as you can so you can make more money right... Wrong, you end up more behind than if you had just taken your time and made steady progress on writing awesome blogs and posts. Having lots of uninterested followers is the same as having very little value added to your post in the end (WELL CHANCES ARE MOST LIKELY SO) Having a select few followers on the other hand who are actually interested in what you have to write, ends up being way more beneficial to your Steemit career in the long run, and lets face it... our view on the $$ plays a big part in how we all interact in our daily lives, so rightfully so, this platform sort of revolves around the same principle...


    Take a Look at all the big tymers on this platform for example and take a look at what and how they post: (I suggest following a few of these Steemians as, well... they've been around long enough to know what's up ;) )
    P.s. In no order, other than the number 1 spot. I'm not going to summarize what they're about or into, that's up to whoever decides they want to indulge further :D

    Just my personal list on who I think are most interesting to follow

    1. @dantheman - Well what can you say about the founder, the creator... Thank you Sir for what you have done with Steemit!
      HERE you can find his very first post. Very good read, and well what do you expect from the GOAT of Steemit

    2. @papa-pepper - I think one of the first people I became friends with on here, if not very close to. Awesome adventure type posts and blogs
      HERE you can find one of his first blogs where he does a little introduction

    3. @heiditravels - Only just recently found her here on Steemit, Talk about some awesome travel pics
      HERE you can find on of her blogs which introduces her to prove people she's real

    4. @jerrybanfield - One of the first few guys I found on youtube that got me hooked on crypto currency. Thanks @jerrybanfield
      HERE you can find one of his first blogs where he does a little introduction, well its more than a little but very interesting read

    5. @donkeypong - Found him on Steemit and been following since my beginning, lots of relevant posts
      HERE you can find a post he did where he explains ultimately how to use Steemit
      AND HERE is another absolutely brilliant write up

    6. @craig-grant - The very first guy on youtube I ever saw promote youtube (People thought you were crazy for this, but you e nded up being able to say yuuuuuup, made it)
      HERE you can find an introduction of sort post

    7. @roelandp - Found him on Steemit, lots of wicked awesome blogs
      HERE you can find his first proper awesome introduceyourself post

    8. @crypt0 - One of the guys that got me hooked into cryptocurrency. Thanks @crypt0
      HERE you can find his introduction post to cryptocurrency

    9. @sirwinchester - Found on Steemit, tons of awesome reads. Entertaining fella
      HERE you can find his introduceyourself post where he comes into the world of Steemit

    10. @fyrstikken - Found on Steemit, awesome daily posts and blogs
      HERE you can find one of his introduceyourself blogs
      HERE you can find the other

      <>
      BE GENUINE AND TRY TO MAKE APPEASING POSTS

      This is probably another one of those, yeah Digger, heard all that before... Well guess what, so did I, over and over by everyone who knew what was what on here!!! But yet again I brushed it off with a ya ya ya attitude at the beginning. Now, to me it means - TAKE YOUR TIME Take the time to learn how to go about posting, and to RE-learn how when you forget the next time around. Take the time to actually write a post of value. Take the time to research that what you are posting about, has value to other people on here, or online as a matter of fact (as Steemit search is paired up with Google search essentially.) Everyone has those posts that are not what I just described, yeah sure... the odd short or quick one when you want to ask a question, or quickly share something delightful or whatever... however its not every post. The majority of our posts should have some thought, some effort behind them. Sometimes they should take hours to right, I know for me, I've spent all day writing some of mine, and I don't plan on stopping that time period of usage... I just plan to become more efficient :D.
      Learn to master Markdown in order to write new solid posts.

    I've listed a few good links and reads in order to help write eye-appealing posts below:

    1. The ultimate Markdown tutorial
    2. How to liven up your Steem posts with Markdown with a big thanks to @xeldal for this beauty! Very helpful and easy to understand, with a few extra links too!
    3. Steemit Markdown Basics for Beginners big thanks to @thecryptofiend for this Gem. Its another basic intro post but it has a little surprise at the end of it ;)
    4. Steemit Markdown Tutorials for Beginners: A Compilation of my written Guides to Help you Edit your Posts via Raw Editor like a Pro; Markdown & HTML Codes Bigups to @steemitguide for this one. It to me is a hidden oasis of useful info when it comes to Markdown
    5. Steemitguide: [HowTo] Make Use of a Steemit Feature that allows you to display Content Floating Left/Right and learn to Paragraph Text with Linked Images Yes-sir here it goes another shoutout to @steemitguide for this juicy bit of info. This trick is about the most fancy as it gets in my formatting of everyday posts for me anyways


    Don't do irrational things on here, to just try attract more people, to ultimately try get more $$... Its as simple as that. I was guilty of it, I'm sure many of us were, and probably still are from time to time, but its a habbit that needs to be broken early, or before its too late!

    <>

    STEEMTOOLS

    Well talk about a useful site to help you in youre Steemit adventures...? This is it... Just as the name implies, Its a site that groups together a whole bunch of tools that are very useful in navigating your time on Steemit.
    But there are so many on there, how do I know which ones to use Digger???
    Well take the time and go through each one and understand how they each work, use the Steemit search application, would be the obvious answer... Things were not so obvious to me when I got going!

    Here are the useful tools that I use all the time: (Just click on the tool to go to the site)

    STEEMTOOLS where all this info is grouped

    1. SteemWhales - Where to find out info on all the whales in Steemit
    2. SteemVP (Steem MPV) - Info on all your followers - Thanks to @roelandp for this one
    3. SteemStats - Very useful site with info on your account - Thanks to @jesta for this one
    4. SteemNow - Daily rewards - Thanks to @penguinpablo for this one
    5. Steem Supply - When will you be paid? Your growth, voting power and rewards. Thanks to @dragosroua for this
    6. Steem DB - All blockchain date and info. Thanks to @jesta for this
    7. Steem Dollar - Voting info and power
    8. Catch A Whale - Just as the name states
    9. Steem Down - Where you can see whos powering down their Steem Power - Thanks to @bitcoiner for this one
    10. SteemDollarTicker - Where you can find out how much your Steem accumulation is worth

    Huge thanks to @jacobtothe for this beauty on Steemit etiquette. Very well done for advice on what and how to use Steemit.
    Click here for his post
    Bigups to @steemitguide for this next post. It is a clearly laid out blog on how to become an expert on keeping track of your Steem $
    Click here for the post to view his How to Become an Expert at Monitoring your Financial Activity on Steemit by using Handy Tools to keep track of your Steem/Steem Power/Steem Dollar Earnings)**
    THERE ARE MANY MORE TOOLS SO TAKE SOME TIME AND GO EXPLORING THEM**


    Well this concludes the beginning of this introduction to Steemit by @diggerdugg. Will continue withmore help as the days go on and as time permits :D

    Shoutouts:

    Info I found using the Steemit search feature
    Urban Dictionary
    Giphy
    @dantheman, @papa-pepper, @heiditravels, @jerrybanfield, @donkeypong, @craig-grant, @roelandp, @crypt0, @sirwinchester, @fyrstikken, @xeldal, @thecryptofiend, @steemitguide, @jacobtothe, @jesta, @bitcoiner
    Thanks everyone for all the awesome content that you have posted which allowed me two things. First to learn. I have followed so many people and viewed so may posts all to find info on how to succeed. Second is for allowing me the ability to group this info and pass it along to people who follow me, and help me get better at doing this writing blogging thing I've got myself into...
    :D

    Cheers and Happy Steeming

    @DIGGERDUGG


    Please let me know if I can do anything better or add any more value to my posts

Sort:  

Goodness gracious! I am going to resteem this, archive this, stick it in my tabs!!

I seriously have to reread this, go to all the links!

Such awesome value! Thanks! (I'm a newbie and I totally appreciate it!)

And thanks for the words of encouragement - I was getting a little discouraged that I was taking too much time making my posts!! (learning the markdown editor, etc)

Noooo way never such thing as taking too long :D Thanks for the kind words !! These are all things that have helped and are still helping me today!! cheers mate

This post received a 3.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @diggerdugg! For more information, click here!

Wow! I'm very happy i stumbled on this post. I'm a minnow and never knew how to use the markdown for formatting but i have learnt from this post.
Thank you! Very much for sharing

No problem at all. You should watch all the tutorials and learn how to properly use markdown. It makes writing and blogging so much easier which equates to it becoming more fun! :D IMHO

Yeah, i have watched a few already.

Thank you so much for this useful guide. I am going to resteem it just so that I can keep a copy for future reference. :)X

Thank you so much for those words :) I will migrate over and see what sorta stuff you have up recently :D