Look How Far We Have Come - Minnow Support Project

header

Look how far we have come.

It was suggested to me to write about the progress the Minnow Support Project has made so far. I decided this was an excellent idea, and tonight the mood struck me to share how amazing I think the community is, and how much it has grown. I really believe it might be one of the best examples of community and philanthropy on the internet.

hr

Where we started.

When I joined just a little more than a month ago, the server was sitting somewhere between 1000 and 1500 members. It had only been created less than a month previous. The actual number of active people in General channel was far less than that total, but they made up for it in spirit. The bot votes were fewer, but stronger. This was it, a small and tight-knit community with a solid bot-vote to bring people in and help boost a post up a bit. I loved it. I spent far too much there.

We talked about whatever came to mind, made up Steemes (memes by any other name) and generally had a great time. We welcomed new people and helped them get registered for the use of the bots. We discussed ways to grow a natural and quality following.

People started talking about the projects they wanted to do to help grow the Support portion of the MSP.

All in all, one of the best communities I have ever found online.

hr

So, where are we now?

Oh man, where to start? As of writing this post, we are at 4,465 members. We have 9+ Moderators, and a solid bank of Witnesses who run projects of their own and as part of the MSP. We have an internet radio station with licensed music and regularly scheduled talk-shows. We have an official website that is beautiful and constantly updated. An entire burgeoning fiction-writing support system to help people who love creative writing, and might one day hope to publish their work. There are so many projects and support tools that I am positive I am missing some of them.

All of these people, all of these projects. We haven't changed the important part. We still greet people when they enter the server. We still joke and play around. We run snap contests, and help each other with posts. We poke at each other with Steemes, and compare our ranks with Tatsumaki. There are even still times when the server might randomly be taken over by Peaches.

Two months. That is all the time that has passed since the server creation. We have come so far, and there is only more to come.
I would tag some people to thank them, but I don't have the time to tag them all.
You all know who you are, you are why this community is amazing. Be proud, very proud.



You are a member already, right? Get on that.




sig


Proud moderator and supporter of the minnow support project - brought to you by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut

pal-gif


All images used fall under CCO License unless otherwise specified, or they are created by the author and released under the same license.

Sort:  

Awesome post. Let me just say it's a pleasure serving as your fellow mod, and I love it when you run through the halls of the Fiction Workshop screaming about crazy raccoons. Love it even more when you pull up a chair and hang out for a while. :-) Bottom line--I agree. MSP is, hands down, the best internet community I've ever been part of.

It's just too much fun to lurk that channel and then do a random drive-by comment to keep things light-hearted.

And we love it! :-)

I know my comment will get lost and not be read but I just wanted to say what you guys do is great. I would really get dishearten when I would post something I worked hours and nobody but spammers see and upvote. With MSP I atleast know I will get some visibility and even no one reads my efforts won't go in vain.
Thank you guys

I've been there since pretty much the beginning and I can tell you there is no better place for a newbie to land when they get here.
You want real followers, help, advice and a great laugh. Go now!
It the place to be.
Great post dude.

What can I say? I'm grateful I found this community, I'm happy to belong, and I'm excited for its bright future. Keep the fire stoked.

Thaks for all your hard work, assistant and never dying support! This team is doing an amazing job.

We couldn't do it without the rest of the community either. Thank you!

I'm loving the music!

Who is DJing right now..lost his poor cat..

I believe it's @SirCork right now.

Just posted a steem to see if can get some more listeners. Haven't heard a song yet I didn't absolutely love. Just put link on bookmarks bar so I can listen while I work.

It'll only get better and better :) Cheers to MSP growing even more and yet still staying true to its core values of creation

Yes, MSP has become a bedrock for newbies, with real human support and advice.

And I must thank MSP for the advice and assistance in moving forward my own project Minnows Accelerator Project. I started this only 2 weeks ago and is already showing signs of... acceleration!

Thanks MSP! Keep it up! Peach bomb.

The Peaches, they are everywhere.

Much success, so congrats.

On a serious note, this group has made my steemit journey a lot more enjoyable.

Thank you MSP, I think as a minnow I would not make progress without your support.

4 Thumbs up! Thanks for the effort @discordiant. I'm also following the Curation trail in Streemian but it seems to stopped working it looks like.

This happens a lot it seems. We have started to recommend even a small delegation of SP instead of this step in the registration process.

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @crimsonclad from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

welcome to the community @discordiant:), follow me back @maninjapan1989 :P

Consider joining the community and learning why Follow 4 Follow isn't a sustainable or very successful method to growing here on Steemit.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Discordiant from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has been resteemed by @nettybot courtesy of @crimsonclad from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @msp-lovebot courtesy of @crimsonclad from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @crimsonclad from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post received a 5% vote by @nettybot courtesy of @crimsonclad from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

it is such a wonderful post !
very informative & supportive for new cumers.
hats off to your efforts !

waoooo what a great success of msp , im also feeling proud to be a part of msp, and its great to be here on msp, thanks for sharing these amazing facts of this great project

Can you explain what is this project ? and what are you talking about in this post , didnt really get anything

This also doesn't explain what the f**k it is ?and how it works?

You are welcome to join the server and I will gladly answer your questions there.

Upvoted. I'm going to resteem this now :]

Excellent article. Thank you and minnowsupport for your support. From me apvote.

Quoting your article, of course this @Steemit has not been so booming or known to people, as it is now, as well as I do not know it .. And now social media in steemit seems to have become the lifestyle of the world community, besides they have fun here we can also Open our own savings, and lots of interesting news stories that we really miss in steemit. And I personally say many thanks to @ned and friends who have set up this social media plaforn, and to the curator in every country .. good post @discordiant, and thanks for sharing..

Oya Im @nauval steemian @ indonesia ..


When I joined a little over a month ago, the server sits between 1000 and 1500 members. It was only made less than a month before. The actual number of active people on a public channel is much smaller than that amount, but the amount is up to the spirit. The sounds of bots are fewer, but stronger. That is, a small and tight community with solid bot sounds to bring people in and help improve the posting a bit. I loved it I spent too much there.

We talked about anything in mind, made Steemes (memes by another name) and generally had fun. We welcome new people and help them registered for bot usage. We discuss ways to cultivate natural quality and quality.

People are starting to talk about projects they want to do to help grow MSP Support section.

All in all, one of the best communities I've found online.

Great post

hi @discordiant it is very interesting how much members Steemit have. Because I am fresh now here and the platform is very new to me. Very good platform so far. regards Timo

I joined this project a few days ago and I must say it's filled with positive energy! It is, by far, my best experience online for a very long time:-) I'm grateful for all work you all have done and I'm also excited to be a part of MSP from now on. Thanks and also great work!

Your logo in the competition.

He copyed my concept. I can live with this, but if he/you now copy my logo style i have to start a steemit war. :( @resteem.bot

I am sorry to hear you believe the resteem symbol is a style of yours. Considering the logo was being created for you, and would be used by you if it won, I fail to see the problem.

No! First he copyed my concept and now I see there logos that have the same basic idea like my logo.

It is not about the resteem logo. But how to use it.

If you think it is okay so I can copy back you later. :) @resteem.bot

I am discussing this with you in your competition post. Please continue it there.

Since when are you qualified to complain about copying?
Also - forget the Point. :D

Stop copying and do your own thing. Thank you. @resteem.bot

Haha! Ok.
I will not copy you.
After all - there's nothing to copy.
;)

Thank you for the backup. I have flagged the comment away since it was unrelated to this post and only made to target me for some reason.